The Australian Interior Design Awards is celebrating its 10th anniversary in 2013.
Open for submissions now, the awards will be announced in Melbourne on 31 May 2013.
Co-presented by the Design Institute of Australia, designEX and Artichoke magazine, the awards have recognised and honoured some of the most relevant and innovative projects across public, retail, workplace, hospitality, residential and installation design categories, helping establish the careers of several prominent Australian designers over the last decade.
According to event manager Jacinta Reedy, the Australian Interior Design Awards has proved to be an important forum for Australia’s design industry over the past 10 years, providing an opportunity for the profession to acknowledge and celebrate the best projects from both established practitioners and emerging talents.
Entries for the 2013 program opened on 12 November 2012 for projects completed between 1 September 2011 and 31 December 2012. Entries can be submitted online until 1 March 2013.
The jury for the 2013 Australian Interior Design Awards comprises of Paul Brace, Director of Interiors, Jackson Teece (NSW); Miriam Fanning, Founding Director, Mim Design (Vic); Will Fung, Co-Founder, Co-Ap (NSW); Matt Gibson, Director, Matt Gibson A + D (Vic); Kirsten Stanisich, Director, SJB (NSW); Heidi Stowers, Partner, Gray Puksand (Vic); Christina Waterson, Creative Director, How We Create (Qld); and Steve Woodland, Design Director, Cox Howlett & Bailey Woodland (WA).
The jury is supported by John Gertsakis, WSP Environment & Energy (Vic) as ESD Chairperson, and Joanne Cys (FDIA), Associate Professor in Interior Architecture, University of SA as Jury Convenor.
The winners of the 2013 Australian Interior Design Awards will be announced at a special ten-year anniversary presentation on Friday 31 May 2013. The event will also feature a retrospective of Australian interior design, revisiting inventive, influential and enduring interiors projects from the last decade. The awards presentation coincides with design exhibition designEX and the Australian Institute of Architects National Conference.
The awards are supported by leading product suppliers Forbo Flooring Systems, Dulux Australia, The Laminex Group, Smeg, Space and Barrisol Stretch Ceilings, with ISIS as jury host and The Hatton as accommodation partner.
Award categories: 

  • Premier Award, Interior Design Excellence and Innovation
  • Sustainability Advancement Award
  • Emerging Interior Design Practice
  • Residential Design
  • Residential Decoration
  • Retail Design
  • Hospitality Design
  • Workplace Design
  • Public Design
  • Installation Design
  • Best of State Awards for Commercial Design
  • Best of State Awards for Residential Design
  • Best International Design Award