Submissions to the 2013 Australian Interior Design Awards have been shortlisted with exceptional projects selected across seven primary categories by a pre-eminent judging panel.
Co-presented by the Design Institute of Australia, designEX and Artichoke, the prestigious awards program has been recognising professional interior design over the past decade. With a strong showing of entries from NSW, QLD, WA, VIC and SA, this year’s array of diverse and innovative project submissions led the judges to concur that local talent was more than able to compete on the global stage.
Event manager, Jacinta Reedy observed that all categories from hospitality and workplace design, to residential and retail design were well represented.
The 2013 judging panel comprises of Paul Brace, Director of Interiors, Jackson Teece (NSW); Miriam Fanning, Founding Director, Mim Design (Vic); Will Fung, Co-Founder, Co-Ap (NSW); Matt Gibson, Director, Matt Gibson A + D (Vic); Kirsten Stanisich, Director, SJB (NSW); Heidi Stowers, Partner, Gray Puksand (Vic); Christina Waterson, Creative Director, How We Create (Qld); and Steve Woodland, Design Director, Cox Howlett & Bailey Woodland (WA). The jury is supported by John Gertsakis, Infoactiv (Vic) as Sustainability Chairperson, and Joanne Cys (FDIA), Associate Professor in Interior Architecture, University of SA, as Jury Convenor.
Award categories: 

  • Premier Award, Interior Design Excellence and Innovation
  • Sustainability Advancement Award
  • Emerging Interior Design Practice
  • Residential Design
  • Residential Decoration
  • Retail Design
  • Hospitality Design
  • Workplace Design
  • Public Design
  • Installation Design
  • Best of State Awards for Commercial Design
  • Best of State Awards for Residential Design
  • Best International Design Award
The Australian Interior Design Awards is a not-for-profit event. Projects eligible for 2013 awards were completed between 1 September 2011 and 31 December 2012.

The winners of the 2013 Australian Interior Design Awards will be announced at a special ten-year anniversary presentation on Friday 31 May 2013. The gala event will take place in Melbourne’s historic Plaza Ballroom, beneath the Regent Theatre.