Five esteemed built environment professionals from different corners of the globe have been recognised as winners of the 18th edition of the Global Award for Sustainable Architecture, which has an esteemed list of winners including Pritzker Prize recipients Anne Lacaton and Jean-Philippe Vassal, and B.V. Doshi.

Announced by the UNESCO Education and Research Commission delegate, German architect Jana Revedin, the award – established in 2006 – looks to promote innovative thinking around the sustainable practice of architecture.

2024’s theme, Architecture is Education, is embodied by the work of each winner. Please find the full list of winners below.

  • Iyas Shahim and Wesam Al Asali, Founders of the IWLAB laboratory (Syria)
  • AndrĂ©s Jaque, from the Office of Political Innovation, Dean of Columbia GSAPP (Spain/United States)
  • Marina Tabassum, architect (Bangladesh)
  • Ciro Pirondi, Co-founder L'Escola da Cidade (Brazil)
  • Klaus K Loenhart, architect and landscape architect and Director of the Institute of Architecture and Landscape at TU Graz (Austria/Germany)


Image: Khudi Bari by Marina Tabassum Architects.