Bruce Medek has been appointed as the new chair of the Queensland Board of Architects. He succeeds professor Susan Savage, who held the role for 15 years. 

According to the Minister for Housing and Public Works, Mick de Brenni, Savage leaves a lasting legacy.

"Professor Savage is one of the longest-serving architects registration board chairs in the country and is highly respected in architecture at both state and national levels," he says.

"Her significant contributions to upholding professional standards and public confidence in the profession of architecture have contributed in no small way to the ongoing success of the Board. 

"She was responsible for the development and introduction of the Queensland Architects Code of Practice in 2003, and the introduction of the Board's Continuing Professional Development (CPD) Policy requirements," he adds.

According to de Brenni, new chair Bruce Medek also has a strong reputation in the field since beginning work as a student in 1984 and as a registered architect from 1995. 

"Bruce brings to the role strong design talents, a commitment to clients and an in-depth knowledge of construction, contracts and standards," says de Brenni.

"His first practice, Gall and Medek Architects (established in 1995), was recognised at national and international levels for exploring future links of people within the built and natural environments. [Then] in 2008 he became the youngest elected Queensland president of the Institute of Architects, becoming the Institute's representative appointed to the Board of Architects Queensland, and now serves as an elected industry representative.

"Now director of Medek Architects, he has been a member of the board of Keep Australia Beautiful Queensland, which administers a range of community projects including Tidy Towns and Clean and Healthy Beaches."

Medek's appointment is effective from 1 April 2018 to 30 June 2019.

Three additional appointments have been made at the Board, each effective from 1 April 2018 to 31 March 2021. These include legal representative and deputy chair Jennifer McVeigh, regional representative Tania Dennis and academic representative Lindy Osborne Burton.