From 43 down to 20, South Australia’s best architectural projects were announced on Friday (14 June) at the Australian Institute of Architects’ 2013 South Australian Architecture Awards.

The Jack McConnell Award for Public Architecture, the state’s highest honour, went to leading university research building The Braggs, University of Adelaide designed by BVN Donovan Hill in association with Hames Sharley.

For photonics and advanced sensing, this new research facility symbolically represents its internal function through an external crystalline form that shimmers through its reflection and refraction of light throughout the day.

The jury noted, “The Braggs Building was a clear winner of this award. We were impressed with its clear conceptual basis drawn from the research program it houses. It is strongly expressive of and responsive to the medium of photonics through its use of glass and light.

“The strong logic underlying planning and form is demonstrative of a thoroughly considered project that effectively communicates the nature of science, technology and light.”

The Braggs Building designed by BVN Donovan Hill in association with Hames Sharley. Image: John Gollings.

Max Pritchard Architect impressed the residential architecture jury with an ‘elegant and refined’ glass house in the Barossa Valley taking away the John S Chappel Award for Residential Architecture – Houses.

“Situated on top of a rolling hill and imbedded partially within the ground, the architect has confidently executed a building that is a delight to behold and experience,” the jury says.

The Barossa Valley glass house by Max Pritchard Architect. Image: Sam Noonan.

Roach House Belair by Rod Roach Architect, entered by David Ey was awarded the Derrick Kendrick Award for Sustainable Architecture.

“This house has endured and has stood the test of time and remains quite simply an exemplar of intelligent and economically sustainable design.

“Among other enduring aspects of this house, we felt strongly that this is a clever example of fundamental ecologically sustainable development principals at work,” the jury says.

Roach House Belair by Rod Roach Architect. Image: Erin Beare.

Walking away with the Robert Dickson Award for Interior Architecture was Hassell’s Murray Bridge Library.

On this award, the jury says, “The new Murray Bridge Library, with its views over the river has radically changed the way local users interact with their library.

“The success of the briefing, community engagement, design process, and execution can be seen in the huge increase in users of the library, and the general attitude and satisfaction of the staff, who are clearly very proud of their new facility.”

Inside the Murray Bridge Library by Hassell. Image: Sam Noonan.

MPH Architects took away the COLORBOND® Award for Steel Architecture for the Thebarton Community Centre.

The jury noted, “The centre brings together a variety of user groups in a contemporary building that successfully negotiates budget and local government constraints with the ambition for a local landmark.

“The use of steel played an integral role in realising the building’s geometries, which have been drawn from site and conceptual logics.”

Thebarton Community Centre by MPH Architects. Image: David Sievers.

Other awards presented on the night included:

 Public Architecture

Architecture Award – Flinders Centre for Innovation in Cancer by Woodhead

Commendation – Thebarton Community Centre by MPH Architects

Commendation – St Peter’s Town Hall Complex by Phillips/Pilkington & Flightpath Architects (in association)

Commendation – Flinders University Biology Discovery Centre by Hassell

Residential Architecture – Houses

Architecture Award – Residence 2012 by Walter Brooke & Associates

Architecture Award – Rose Park Residence by Dimitty Andersen Architects

Commendation – Goolwa Beach House by Grieve Gillett Pty Ltd

Commendation – The Captain by C4 Architects

Residential Architecture – Multiple Housing

Architecture Award– Alta by Tectvs

Commercial Architecture

Commendation – Australian Federal Police Headquarters by Walter Brooke & Associates

Sustainable Architecture

Architecture Award – Goolwa Beach House by Grieve Gillett Pty Ltd

Architecture Award – Barossa Valley Glass House by Max Pritchard Architect

Commendation – Fan and Flare by Khab Architects

Small Project Architecture

Architecture Award – Sticky Rice B&Bs by John Adam Architect

Commendation – Burnside Substation by Tectvs


Architecture Award – St Peter’s Town Hall Complex by Phillips/Pilkington & Flightpath (architects in association)

COLORBOND® Award for Steel Architecture

Commendation – Benson Radiology Salisbury by Tridente Architects

The City of Adelaide Prize

Bonython Park Upgrade – New Playspace by WAX Design Pty Ltd and Ric McConaghy

Archicentre Renovation Award

Commendation – Hazelwood Park Residence by Energy Architects

Projects that received a Named Award or an Architecture Award now progress to the 2013 National Architecture Awards to be announced in Sydney on 7 November.

For more information on each project, visit the South Australian Architecture Awards 2013 website