Several architects, a landscape architect and an interior designer have been acknowledged in the 2017 Queen’s Birthday Honours.

Among these were Fender Katsalidis’ Karl Fender, Peddle Thorp’s Peter Harvey, Di Carlo Potts and Associates’ Neville Potts, the Australian Institute of Landscape Architects’ Dianne Firth, and Artists and Industry’s Geoffrey Fitzpatrick. Notably, the late Stephen Ashton – the founding director of ARM Architecture – was also honoured as part of the proceedings.

160727hero1989c4fa.jpgAshton (pictured right), who passed away in July last year, was appointed a Member of the Order of Australia (AM) “for significant service to architecture through management and design roles [and] to professional organisations”.

He was the co-founder of ARM Architecture and joint recipient of the 2016 Australian Institute of Architects Gold Medal. During his time at ARM, Ashton acted as project director for a significant number of large and complex projects, among them Perth Arena Stadium, Melbourne’s Hamer Hall redevelopment, the National Museum of Australia in Canberra, and Melbourne Central shopping centre.

Karl-Fender.JPGArchitect Karl Fender OAM (pictured right), partner of Fender Katsalidis, was recognised “for service to architecture, and to professional institutions”. Fender’s past achievements include being a partner in firms Nation Fender (1990 – 1996) and Nation Fender Katsalidis (1996 – 2001), the chapter president of the Australian Institute of Architects’ (AIA) Victorian branch (2008 – 2010), and the AIA national president (2010 – 2011). He currently serves as a member of the Design Review Panel for the Barangaroo Delivery Authority, and is an honorary fellow of the respective national architecture institutes of USA, Canada and Korea.

Another architect, Peter Harvey OAM, was also recognised “for service to architecture”. He was responsible for the opening of Peddle Thorp’s Brisbane office, and was chairman of the practice between 1962 and 1964, and 1984 and 1994.

c6c69742dd0ca3cb84ab0c6935b06f82-1.jpgArchitect Neville Potts OAM was also recognised “for service to architecture”. Potts was senior director of Di Carlo Potts and Associates, Health Planning Architects between 1984 and 2005. In 1998, Potts was made a fellow of the Royal Australian Institute of Architects.

Prominent landscape architect Dianne Firth OAM (pictured right) was recognised “for service to landscape architecture, and to education”. She is adjunct associate professor within the Faculty of Arts and Design at the University of Canberra. Firth’s other appointments include as deputy chairperson of the ACT Heritage Council, a member of the Design Review Panel for the ACT Land Development Agency, director of LFA (ACT) and a fellow of the Australian Institute of Landscape Architects.

Designer Geoffrey Fitzpatrick OAM was recognised “for service to industrial and interior design”. He is the vice-president of Artists and Industry, director of the Independent Designers Association of Australia and a member of the Advisory Committee on Design for the Victorian Department of Innovation, Industry and Regional Development.

From 1998 to 2003, Fitzpatrick was editor of Artichoke magazine. He is also the inaugural director and chair of the Australian Design Alliance, and has been a member of the Design Institute of Australia since 1975.