Peter Stutchbury wins 2015 Gold Medal for Architecture
Zaha Hadid becomes first woman to win RIBA Royal Gold Medal

Australia’s Peter Stutchbury is one of nine non-UK architects honoured by The Royal Institute of British Architects with a 2016 RIBA International Fellowship.

The lifetime honour, which allows individual recipients to use the initials Int FRIBA after their name, will be presented to Stutchbury and the other recipients in February 2016.

Stutchbury’s consummate skill as an architect, draughtsman and builder was commended by the jury, as were his commitment to pedagogy and his dedication to Australia’s native land and the rights of indigenous people.

His work shares the same commitment (as Leplastrier and Murcutt) to an environmentally sensitive building practice based on craft and a deep understanding of construction, particularly joinery and metalwork,” says the Citation.

“He has spoken with great consistency about the rights and values of aboriginal people in Australia and his practice clearly acknowledges the influence of their sense of the earth.”

“He sits at his desk quietly sketching in 3D freehand, every little turn and corner of the buildings. The suite of elegant builderly working drawings he has created over the years is an absolute pleasure to browse.

“His ability to articulate ideas through drawings of construction is a lesson to us all.”

“Peter Stutchbury was nominated because of his consummate skill as an architect, draughtsman and builder; because of his dedication to his native land and the rights and dignity of its people; because of his teaching and because of that mercurial ability that only a few architects have, which is the ability to create and sustain a milieu where many talents can thrive.”

Among the list of 2016 RIBA International Fellowship includes ubiquitous Denmark architect Bjarke Ingels from BIG, America’s Rick Joy and Spanish duo José Antonio Martínez Lapeña & Elias Torres.

The RIBA's 2015 International Fellowships are:
• Kees Christiaanse – KCAP, Netherlands
• Mario Cucinella – MC Architects, Italy
• Bjarke Ingels – BIG, Denmark
• Rick Joy – Rick Joy Architects, USA
• Brian MacKay-Lyons – MacKay-Lyons Sweetapple Architects, Canada
• Peter Märkli – Studio Märkli, Switzerland
• Peter Stutchbury – Peter Stutchbury Architecture, Australia
• José Antonio Martínez Lapeña & Elias Torres – Spain