The New South Wales government has approved a total of 22 solar projects till date, with the extra solar power generation capacity ensuring long-term energy security for the state.

According to the minister for planning and housing, Anthony Roberts, 10 solar projects received the greenlight in 2017, twice the number of projects approved in the preceding year. 

Future capacity will support more than 1,800 jobs and power about half a million homes with sustainable energy.

Roberts said the state will have a combined solar capacity of nearly 1,200 MW and collectively reduce carbon emissions by over 2.5 million tonnes - equivalent to taking around 800,000 cars off the road.

All the projects are located in regional NSW with six of the 10 proposals coming from Central West NSW. Additionally, the 170 MW solar project in the Riverina, known as the Finley Solar Project has also received approval.

NSW, according to the Minister, already benefits from three operating solar farms in Nyngan, Moree and Broken Hill. The Nyngan Solar Plant in the state’s North-West is the largest operating solar farm in Australia and is even visible from outer space. Seven solar projects are currently under construction across regional NSW in Parkes, Yoogali, Manildra, Dubbo, Glenn Innes, Goulburn and Forbes.

Minister for resources and energy, Don Harwin observes that the approval of 22 projects shows the popularity of solar power clearly. With more renewable energy generation capacity under construction than any other state at around 1,000 MW, NSW is in a stronger position than other states in terms of energy security.

NSW Solar Farm Fact Sheet

(Solar farm proposals approved by the NSW government in the last 12 months: Total capacity of 1,355 MW)

  • Limondale Solar Farm, Balranald, Far West NSW (250 MW)
  • Sunraysia Solar Farm, Balranald, Far West NSW (200 MW)
  • Coleambally Solar Farm, Coleambally, Riverina Murray NSW (150 MW)
  • Nevertire Solar Farm, Dubbo, Central West NSW (120 MW)
  • Hillston Sun Farm, Hillston, Central West NSW (100 MW)
  • Metz Solar Farm, Armidale, New England North West NSW (100 MW)
  • Gilgandra Solar Farm, Gilgandra, Central West NSW (40 MW)
  • Walgett Solar Farm, Walgett, Central West NSW (30 MW)
  • Beryl Solar Farm, Gulgong, Central West NSW (95 MW)
  • Hay Solar Farm, Central West NSW (100 MW)
  • Finley Solar Farm, Central West NSW (170 MW)