The built environment is the sum of contributions from the architecture, design and construction industries, as well as non-architects such as clients, consultants, government authorities and developers.

The annual DARCH Horse Awards, run by the Australian Institute of Architects NSW Chapter Emerging Architects and Graduates Committee, is a program that aims to recognise and celebrate the roles of this latter group.

Into its third year, the 2014 award winners were announced last week, and include Kati Westlake of Parramatta City Council, who took home the Government Authority Award, and George Karageorge of Stasia Pty Ltd who won the Developer Award.

The Builder Award went to David Lakes of Lochbuild, and the Urban Provocateur prize was awarded to John O’Callaghan.

A special jury award, the ‘Pinnacle of Promise’ was given out this year to Urban Growth NSW, the NSW Government’s urban transformation delivery organisation that oversees a number of urban transformation projects, including the Bays Precinct and Green Square Town Centre.

DARCH Horse Awards 2014 winners, nominators and judges

Full list of DARCH Horse Awards 2014 Winners

GOVERNMENT AUTHORITY AWARD: Kati Westlake of Parramatta City Council

nominated by Hugo Moline of The Lot

DEVELOPER AWARD: George Karageorge of Stasia Pty Ltd

nominated by Angelo Candalepas of Candalepas Associates

CONSULTANT AWARD: Damian Hadley of Cantilever

nominated by Hannah Tribe of TRIBE Studio, Chris Rogers of TERROIR, Matt Day of Day Bukh [Joint nomination].


nominated by Mark Jones of Edminston Jones


nominated by Shaun Carter of Carterwilliamson

CLIENT AWARD: Greg Barrett

nominated by Jim Koopman of AJ+C

BUILDER AWARD: David Lakes of Lochbuild

nominated by Tim Hastwell of JDH Architects


nominated by Jenna Rowe of TERROIR

SPECIAL JURY AWARD – ‘Pinnacle of Promise’: Urban Growth NSW

nominated by the Jury

Photography by Phuong Le. More images from the night can be found HERE.