Nominations are now open for the 2016 Leadership in Sustainability Prize.

The Leadership in Sustainability Prize is awarded each year to individuals or groups in recognition of their exceptional leadership and outstanding contribution to the advancement of sustainability of the built environment.

The nominations, which opened on 17 July 2015, will close on 17 August 2015 and can be made online. One can nominate a person/group or self-nominate for this prize.

Nominations should meet the following criteria:

  • Creation of and advancement of knowledge through research and education
  • Development and deployment of effective advocacy and policy
  • Development and implementation of effective practice
  • Engagement of industry and the community with this knowledge, advocacy or practice

Entry requirements

Nominations can be made by providing a statement of excellence addressing one or more of the above criteria. Each nomination must be accompanied by the nominee’s curriculum vitae of no more than two A4 pages, describing their educational qualifications and relevant career history and experience; and the name and contact details of a minimum of two nominees, or referees, with declaration of interest.


The 2016 jury for the prize will be appointed by the President on behalf of the National Council and comprise of: Institute National President or nominee (Chair); Institute National Sustainability Committee Chair; a prominent practicing architect or academic; and an allied industry or government representative.

Past winners

  • 2015 Professor Emeritus Allan Rodger
  • 2014 John Macdonald, DesignINC
  • 2013 Daniel Grollo
  • 2012 Prof Rob Adams & the City Design Division
  • 2011 Paul Pholeros, Healthabitat
  • 2010 Tony Arnel

2015 winner

The 2015 Leadership in Sustainability Prize has been awarded to Professor Emeritus Allan Rodger in recognition of over 40 years’ contribution at a local, national and global scale to research, community understanding and architectural education in the field of sustainability including the establishment of a UIA working group in 1990 looking at the implications of the greenhouse effect for architecture and the built environment.