The 2014 Australian Institute of Landscape Architects’ (AILA) National Awards have been announced, with Taylor Cullity Lethlean (TCL) emerging as the biggest winner of the night, taking home six gongs altogether.

This includes the program’s top honour, the Australian Medal for Landscape Architecture, for their planning of National Arboretum in Canberra with Tonkin Zulaikha Greer. Designed after the 2003 Canberra bushfires, the Arboretum will host a series of large sculptures like a cochlear-inspired sculpture that, over time, will be discovered within the forest landscape.

TCL also won the Urban Design National Award of Excellence with BKK Architects for their work on Dandenong’s Lonsdale Street  Redevelopment in Melbourne.

Above: The Arboretum is host to a series of large sculptures that will, over time, be discovered within the forest landscape. Over time, each forest will host a diverse array of visitor facilities such as picnic areas, art installations and secret gardens, nestled amongst the forest canopies. Photography: by John Gollings.

Below: The Dandenong Lonsdale Street Redevelopment.

The National President’s Award went to Greg Grabasch of Western Australia for his work on the documentary, ‘WA Women in Landscape Architecture’. The short 20 minute film is a series of informal interviews with 25 women working in the Landscape Architecture profession, and asks questions to do with women’s role in the industry, and whether there is a glass ceiling for women in the profession.

AILA National President Mark Frisby paid special homage to Grabasch, saying “the WA Women in Landscape Architecture documentary provides valuable historic insights as well as exploring current workplace issues and gender equality”.

“Importantly the film challenges the profession to develop practice models that are more inclusive, supportive and nurturing of women,” Frisby adds.

Prince Alfred Park and Pool by Sue Barnsley Design, Neeson Murcutt Architects and City of Sydney (below) was also recognised with a National Award for Design for its reinvigoration of the public space. (Image: Brett Boardman)

The AILA National Awards are held once every two years. This year’s winners were selected by a jury consisting of Adrian Pilton, Lorrae Wild, Catherine Kiernan and Shane Thompson.