My shortlist (0 item)

    Melbourne house with Asian architectural themes wins top 2014 IDEA prize

    Geraldine Chua

    Winners of the 2014 Interior Design Excellence Awards (IDEA) have been announced, with Kennedy Nolan taking home the night’s Overall Winner prize for its St Kilda House West project.

    Incorporating Asian architectural themes within a contemporary vernacular, St Kilda House West takes inspiration from the client’s desire to have an expressive home that isn’t formulaic or symbolic. The resulting design responds with a sensibility that is never literal.

    The project was also recognised as the winner of IDEA’s Residential Single category.












    Photography by Derek Swalwell

    The Designer of the Year award went to Woods Bagot, which was praised for its contribution of diverse exemplar projects over the past year.

    Spanning across hospital, commercial and public spaces, notable projects from the practice include the Royal Randwick, South Australian Health and Medical Research Institute (SAHMRI), NAB 700 Bourke Street, The Collins and Co-working Village.













    Left: SAHMRI by Woods Bagot. Image: Trevor Mein

    Right: Royal Randwick by Woods Bagot. Image: Shannon McGrath

    “Their ability to design acumen is both resolute and of an aesthetic quality like no other,” says the event team.

    The IDEA Gold Medal, which recognises practitioners who have made an enduring contribution to Australian design over the course of their career, was presented to Chris Connell (pictured below).

    Director of Chris Connell Design, Connell has over 30 years’ experience within the architecture, interior design and furniture industry and, together with Raoul Hogg, founded MAP. 

    His iconic Pepe chair is included within the permanent collection of the Museum of Modern Art, MoMA, New York.

    Other big winners of the night include Breathe Architecture, which received IDEA’s Sustainability award for The Commons, a triple bottom line development that also won the Residential Multi category. The Emerging Design Award was given to C + M Studio for their inaugural project, Manly Penthouse, which sees a curved interior room inserted within a modernist shell.

    The Commons by Breathe Architecture. Image: Andrew Wuttke

    Manly Penthouse by C+M Studio. Image: Caroline McCredie

    Greg Natale, an interior designer and architect with his firm Greg Natale, was named the inaugural winner of the Editor’s Medal. His 2014 portfolio includes projects such as Croydon House, East Brisbane House and Tennyson Point house, as well as a range of rugs, carpets, wallpapers and furniture.

    Croydon House by Greg Natale. Image: Anson Smart

    All winners were selected by the 2014 judges – Miriam Fanning (Mim Design), Fiona Dunin (FMD Architects), Trent Jansen and Grant Amon (Grant Amon Architects), Jon Goulder and Mark Simpson (DesignOffice), and Inside Magazine’s editors Jan Henderson and Gillian Serisier.

    Full list of winners:

    Overall Winner

    Kennedy Nolan – St Kilda West House

    Designer of the Year

    Woods Bagot

    Gold Medal

    Chris Connell

    Editors’ Medal

    Greg Natale

    Emerging Designer

    C+M Studio


    Breathe Architects – The Commons


    Winner: NGV + Mathery – Pastello - Draw Act

    Highly Commended: Fold Theory – City of Trees

    Highly Commended: Justin Architecture – Fallow: Between Abandonment and Rebirth


    Winner: DesignOffice – A. Baker

    Highly Commended: Tonkin Zulaikha Greer Architects – Norton Street Cinema

    Highly Commended: Pascale Gomes-McNabb Design (PGMD) – Yellow


    Winner: BVN Donovan Hill – Regional Terminal at Christchurch Airport

    Highly Commended: BVN Donovan Hill in association with Jasmax – ASB North Wharf

    Highly Commended: Travis Walton Architecture – Sisterfields

    Object – Furniture and Lighting

    Winner: Coco Flip – Bucket Table

    Highly Commended: Christopher Boots – Asterix Series

    Highly Commended: Ross Gardam – Asymmetry

    Public Space

    Winner: Bates Smart – 171 Collins Street

    Highly Commended: Luchetti Krelle – Claremont House Driveway

    Highly Commended: Museum Victoria Design Studio – First Peoples Exhibition

    Residential Decoration

    Winner: Arent&Pyke – The Avenue

    Highly Commended: Sarah Davison Interior Design – Art House

    Residential Multi

    Winner: Breathe Architecture – The Commons

    Highly Commended: DesignOffice – Park and Raphael Display Unit

    Highly Commended: Smart Design Studio and Koichi Takada Architects – One Central Park

    Residential Single

    Winner: Kennedy Nolan – St Kilda West House

    Highly Commended: Andrew Burges Architects – Pittwater House

    Highly Commended: Maddison Architects – Cabin 2


    Winner: Kerstin Thompson Architects – Aesop Emporium

    Highly Commended: Elenberg Fraser – Adrian Zumbo Patisserie

    Highly Commended: Studio Equator – Whites Dispensary

    Workplace Over 1000sqm

    Winner: Architectus and Ingenhoven Architects – Sydney Commonwealth Parliament Offices

    Highly Commended: CO-AP – Camperdown Childcare

    Highly Commended: Intermain – WWF Australia

    Workplace Under 1000sqm

    Winner: Melbourne Design Studios – Birkenstock Australia HQ

    Highly Commended: Alexander &Co. – Calida HQ

    Read Comments
    Back to Top