Victoria Government Planning Minister Matthew Guy has announced the appointment of four new members to the Metropolitan Planning Authority (MPA) board to ensure the body effectively manages Melbourne's growth to 2050.

Mr Guy announced the appointment of Brian Haratsis, Laurinda Gardner, Freya Marsden and former Minister Theo Theophanous to the MPA board for the next three years. Bringing a wealth of development, economic and governance expertise to the board, the quartet will join Chairman Chris Banks AM and fellow incumbents Leonie Hemingway (Deputy Chair) and Bill Kusznirczuk to help drive the Plan Melbourne initiative.

According to Mr Guy, the Metropolitan Planning Authority has a significant role in the management of Melbourne's growth over the coming decades, adding that Brian Haratsis, Laurinda Gardner, Freya Marsden and Theo Theophanous each bring strong senior executive experience and depth of understanding of the role of the MPA, and will also complement the skills and experience of reappointed board members Chris Banks, Leonie Hemingway and Bill Kusznirczuk.

He commented that Chairman Chris Banks played a key role in the establishment of the former Growth Areas Authority (GAA), which became the MPA in October 2013, and will continue to provide strong leadership and expertise gained from more than 50 years in the development industry.

Mr Guy also thanked retiring MPA board members Ian Munro and Di Fleming for their significant contribution to Victoria's planning and development.

Mr Guy is confident the energy and expertise of the MPA board would help drive positive planning, development and economic outcomes through the implementation of Plan Melbourne.