Australia’s design community will get an opportunity to showcase their best design projects with entry now open for the 2015 Australian Interior Design Awards.

Co‐presented by the Design Institute of Australia, designEX and Artichoke magazine, the Australian Interior Design Awards have been recognising the innovative thinking and visionary solutions of Australia’s design industry since 2004.

Event manager Jacinta Reedy comments that the Australian Interior Design Awards provide a platform to celebrate the outstanding work of Australian design practices, both established firms and emerging talents.

This year’s awards program will feature a new category – the Award for Interior Design Impact, which will recognise the influence of interior design on the business, social, human resource, environmental and/or cultural outcomes of a project. Entrants will have to demonstrate how key organisational measures such as profit, sales, and client and staff retention have been positively impacted by the application of great interior design.

Reedy explains that the Award for Interior Design Impact will be the most prestigious and respected accolade of its kind, relying on empirical data as a fundamental selection criteria.

Recognising achievement across the whole spectrum of interior design practice, categories in this year’s awards include the Premier Award for Australian Interior Design, Sustainability Advancement, Emerging Interior Design Practice, Residential Design, Residential Decoration, Retail Design, Hospitality Design, Workplace Design, Public Design, Installation Design, Best of State for Commercial Design, Best of State for Residential Design and Best International Design.

The Awards will be judged by experienced practitioners including Dan Cox, Carr Design Group (Vic); Hamish Guthrie, Hecker Guthrie (Vic); Genevieve Lilley, Genevieve Lilley Architects (Tas); Robyn Lindsey, Geyer (Vic); Geraldine Maher, Jackson Interiors (Vic); Sarah‐Jane Pyke, Arent & Pyke (NSW); Brenton Smith, Bates Smart (NSW); and Hamilton Wilson, Wilson Architects (Qld). John Gersakis, InfoActiv (Vic), is the Sustainability Advisor, and Joanne Cys, Associate Professor in Interior Architecture at the University of South Australia is the Jury Convenor.

The Australian Interior Design Awards are supported by Australian suppliers including Forbo Flooring Systems, Dulux, Laminex, Smeg, Space, and Bespoke, with ISIS as jury host and The Hatton as accommodation partner.

Online registrations are now open at and entries can be submitted online until Friday 12 February 2015.

The shortlist of finalists will be published online on Friday 13 March 2015 and winners will be announced on Friday 15 May 2015.