Entries for the AIA’s 2014 NSW Architecture Awards will close on Tuesday 11 March.

Recent projects that were completed before January 2014 may be submitted across a range of categories, including Public Architecture, Urban Design, Commercial Architecture, Interior Architecture, Residential Architecture, and the COLORBOND Award for Steel architecture.

Nominations are also open for the annual Marion Mahony Griffin Prize, the David Lindner Prize, the Emerging Architect Prize, and the Adrian Ashton Prize for architecture in the Media sponsored by Bates Smart.

Sixteen experienced architects and industry leaders from across the profession will form the jury panel. This includes previous NSW Architecture Award winners tony Caro, Penny Fuller and Stephen Varady.

A key change for this year’s awards is the splitting of the Residential Architecture – Houses category into two distinct categories: Residential Architecture – Houses (New), and Residential Architecture – Houses (Alteration and Additions).

According to NSW Chapter President Joe Agius, this split aims to recognise and celebrate the great work undertaken by architects today in the fields of new residential builds and renovations.

Entries for the 2014 NSW Architecture Awards and prize nominations will close at midnight on Tuesday 11 March, and are open to all projects located in NSW by members of the AIA.

Presentation days will be held at Sydney’s Tusculum Villa in Pots Point on Friday 21 March (Commercial, Interior, Public, Urban Design, and Residential Architecture – Multiple Housing) and Saturday 22 March (Heritage – Conservation and Creative Adaptation, Small Projects and Residential – New and Alterations and Additions). Both days are open to members of the public.

“This is a unique chance for the public to hear the stories behind a host of recent projects across New South Wales as well as gain some valuable insights into the latest trends in residential architecture,” said Agius.

The winners will be announced at an awards presentation night on Thursday 25 June, at Doltone House Jones Bay Wharf, and progress on to the National Architecture Awards to be announced in November 2014.