Good Design Australia is calling for entries to the 2014 Good Design Awards, formerly known as the Australian International Design Awards.

Under the new banner of the Good Design Awards, the 2014 program aims to recognise top quality amongst the best products and services on Australian and International markets under 15 main categories.

Winners will be awarded the Good Design Selection or Good Design Awards trademarks, which are visible indicators of good design principles.

Last year’s Good Design Award of the Year, the Awards’ highest honour, was granted to Consumer Electronics for the Blackmagic Cinema Camera.

A cinema quality digital video camera designed for production of feature films, documentaries and episodic television, the Blackmagic Cinema Camera costs less than $3,000, putting high-end filmmaking within the reach of the mass-market.

Good Design Australia also presents special awards and prizes to products or services in the expanding field of design, including the Patron’s Prize for Australian Design, the Powerhouse Museum Design Award and Selection, and the Design Institute of Australia Award (new).

Judges, which have yet to be announced, will inspect all entries and critique them according to the design evaluation criteria:

  • Form
  • Function
  • Safety
  • Sustainability
  • Quality
  • Commerciality
  • Innovation

The Good Design Selection and Good Design Award trademarks have, in the past, led to strong product differentiation and market positioning. The program also offers international credibility and a strong association with the International Council of Societies of Industrial Design (ICSID).

Apply before 28 February to receive the Early Bird Discount, a 20 per cent discount off the standard application fee. To enter, please visit