Click here to NOMINATE

Entries are now open for the 2014 BPN Sustainability Awards, Australia’s leading showcase of the building projects, products and companies at the forefront of ecologically sustainable design.

Now in its eighth year, the Awards were an initiative begun by Building Products News (BPN) Magazine, a respected industry journal that was established in 1967. With the recent merger of BPN with Infolink Magazine, it is expected that interest in this year’s program will only increase.

“Once again, we expect our independent awards program to reveal Australia’s most sustainable buildings and industry innovations,” says David Wheeldon, editor of Infolink - BPN magazine.

“We know how important it is to recognise our industry’s exceptional efforts in this area. The Awards help shed light here. We’re also going to publish regular articles throughout the year to share these practices with the industry and wider public.”

Australian architects, building designers and product manufacturers are invited to enter the Awards, under one or more of nine categories:

  • Single Dwelling (New)
  • Single Dwelling (Alterations & Additions)
  • Multi-density Residential
  • Small Commercial
  • Large Commercial
  • Office Fitout
  • Public Building & Urban Design
  • Landscape Design
  • Innovation of the Year

The winners of each category will be in the running for the Awards’ top accolade – the Best of the Best Award. Last year, this honour went to the application of the suspended geopolymer concrete floor panels by Bligh Tanner, Wagners and HASSELL, which marked the first time cement-free concrete has been utilised for suspended construction.

Nominations close on 4 July 2014. As has always been the case, it is free to enter.

Finalists will be announced in the Sep/Oct issue of BPN, with winners featured in the Nov/Dec edition, as well as on A&D, after they are announced at a gala presentation in Sydney on 23 October 2014.

The Awards are made possible thanks to Awards sponsors Innowood, USG Boral, Glassworks, Knauf and Caroma.

For more information or to enter the awards, please visit