Edward Lukac continues his report of the 2016 National Architecture Conference for Architectural Window Systems by providing a summary of Day two of the event titled ‘How Soon is Now?’.

The previous evening saw several architects being honoured for their work including Peter Maddison – President’s Award; Amy Muir - Emerging Architect Award; Peter Nguyen – Student Prize; Jeremy McLeod - Sustainability Award; Brian Barr - International Award; Michael Ostwald - Neville Quarry Architectural Education Prize; Mat van Kooy, Qianyi Lim, Chris Gilbert, Katy Moir and Hannah Slater - the Dulux Study Award recipients; and 2016 Gold Medallists ARM Architecture.

The Emerging Architect Prize recognises an individual emerging architect or emerging architectural collaboration’s contribution to architectural practice, education, design excellence and community involvement, which advances the profession’s role within the public arena. Entrants need to be nominated by a member of the Australian Institute of Architects.

Day two of the conference began with the AWS EmAGN Breakfast to celebrate the EmAGN 10-year anniversary, with Edward Lukac getting an opportunity to interact with a group of emerging architects including 2015 WA Chapter winner Kylee Schoonens of the Fratelle Group.

Still ahead lay Astrid Klein, Urtzi Grau and Cristina Goberna Pesudo, Kevin Low, Ken Maher, Sadie Morgan, Abbie Galvin, Tim Williams, Andrew Beer, Matt Davis, Vicente Guallart, Greg Mackie, Thomas Fisher, Sandra Kaji-O’Grady, Timothy Hill, Kerstin Thompson, Charles Rice & Nasrine Seraji.

Edward is the State Manager of Archicentre SA since 2009, AIS SA Chapter councillor since 2013 and AIA residential task force member. He regularly presents architecturally related public workshops and seminars to both adults and children aiming to engage the public with architecture. Edward has been Principal of ELA since 1992, providing cost-effective architectural residential solutions because good design changes lives.

Image: At the AWS EmAGN Breakfast