The Victorian Coalition Government’s design competition to re-imagine Flinders Street Station, Melbourne, has entered its final phase, with the six shortlisted competitors submitting their final designs to be judged.

Selected from 117 entries, the shortlist includes both Australian and international firms:

  • Ashton Raggatt McDougall (Melbourne)
  • John Wardle Architects + Grimshaw (Melbourne and UK)
  • HASSELL + Herzog & de Meuron (Melbourne and Switzerland)
  • NH Architecture (Melbourne)
  • Eduardo Velasquez + Manuel Pineda + Santiago Medina (Colombia via University of Melbourne)
  • Zaha Hadid Architecture & BVN Architecture (UK and Melbourne)

As part of the competition, the public will be able to view the designs and have their say by voting in the People’s Choice Award. This public judging format uses a unique online system that prompts voters to think about all aspects of each design and give a considered response in keeping with the holistic nature of the competition.

Minister for Major Projects David Hodgett says that these shortlisted entries have spent numerous months developing detailed plans for the iconic Melbourne station.

“This is the culmination of over a year’s work for the competitors and I know people are as keen as I am to see the designs.”

“It is going to be an exciting and probably controversial month as people have their say and debate the merits of the various designs.”

The People’s Choice voting period will begin on Tuesday 23 July, which is when the shortlisted designs will be revealed. Voting closes on Monday 5 August, with the People’s Choice winner as well as the jury winner being announced on 8 August.

The Flinders Street Station design competition is organised by the Victorian Government, who has committed a $1 million prize pool to rejuvenate and restore the station.

Designs are expected to address the station’s transport function, heritage requirements, urban design and integration with its surrounds as well as providing a value for money proposal.

The competition will be conducted in accordance with the Australian Institute of Architects’ competition guidelines and international best practice.

For more information, please visit