For more interesting library projects see our crowd sourced list of best new libraries for 2014.

Craigieburn Library in Hume City, Victoria has been internationally recognised as the recipient of the 2014 Public Library of the Year Award.

The inaugural prize, which was established by the Danish Agency for Culture and sponsored by the international firm schmidt hammer lassen architects, was awarded at the annual meeting of the IFLA (The International Federation of Library Associations and Institutions).

The Craigieburn Library was selected from four nominated libraries, with the other three being based in England, the Netherlands, and Denmark.

Designed by Francis-Jones Morehen Thorp, the Craigieburn Library was chosen for its modern construction and use of open and flexible space.

The competition judges were also impressed by the library’s reference to the Australian landscape and use of locally-sourced rammed earth and materials.

The nomination committee described the Craigieburn Library as “a good example of how to use a library to create a sense of belonging for all demographic groups as both a learning centre and a gathering place in the City of Hume.” 

The Public Library of the Year Award is part of the Danish Agency for Culture’s ‘Model Programme for Public Libraries.’

The Programme aims to motivate municipalities around the world to create libraries that incorporate digital developments, local culture and functional architectural expression in balance with their surroundings.

Images via Interface Constructions

Courtesy Bustler