Australian architect Richard Graham Thorp, the mastermind behind Canberra’s New Parliament House, has been appointed as a Member of the Order of Australia (AM) for 2015.

Thorp was named among hundreds of others on the annual Australia Day Honour List which provides national and formal recognition for many Australians across the nation who have made a significant difference to their communities.

He was honoured for his significant service to architecture, particularly through the development of major public projects, and to professional organisations.

Thorp is a Life Fellow of the Australian Institute of Architects (AIA) and the Institute’s CEO David Parken said:

“It is a pleasure to congratulate Richard Thorp on the occasion of his appointment as a Member of the Order of Australia.”

Thorp is a graduate of the University of Melbourne and former named partner of Mitchell/Giurgola & Thorp (MGT) and later Francis-Jones Morehen Thorp (FJMT).  His extensive list of works includes the New Parliament House in Canberra whose brief he famously won in an architecture design competition whilst practicing with MGT in New York.

Completed in 1988, New Parliament House was Thorp’s first major project in Australia following an extensive stint overseas. The project received the Sir Zelman Cowen Award for Public Architecture in 1989 before receiving the Enduring Architecture Award from the Australian Institute of Architects in 2013. (Pictured above by John Gollings)

Whilst at FJMT, for whom he still works as a project consultant, Thorp worked on other notable projects including The Concourse in Chatswood (pictured above: John Gollings)

Thorp also played a hand in the additions to Auckland Art Gallery, which was the winner of Jørn Utzon Award for international architecture at 2012 National Architecture Awards and the World Building of the Year at the 2013 World Architecture Festival.(Pictured below: John Gollings)

Thorp retired from practicing in 2009 but still continues to consult for FJMT and serves on the board of professional bodies including the New South Wales Architects Registration Board and the Architects Accreditation Council of Australia.