The University of Notre Dame’s Laura Eden is the winner of the NATSPEC 2023 Student Prize, with her ‘Kayak Store On The Swan River’ submission winning over the judges for its “depth of research and clarity of application”.

Swan, along with the University of Canberra’s Noah Watson and Jonathan Le Chung, were among the winner’s list, as the pair received a commendation for their submission ‘Utopic Construction’. The Judging Panel – Anthony Burke, Kathlyn Loseby, Rebecca Moore and Tony Kemeny – believe Swan’s material understanding and design application made her submission a clear superior to other competitors.

“Equally important in the judging criteria is the capacity to clearly communicate to a broad audience the many challenges for architecture and construction more generally in this space,” the Judging Panel statement reads.

“This year, we saw students presenting research documents, video files, drawings, sketches, VR scenarios, specifications and documentation of material experiments."

All students that entered the competition received a NATSPEC Student Prize certificate and cheque. Registrations for the 2024 NATSPEC Student Prize are currently open. Head to for details.