Leading entertainer and broadcaster Tim Ross was one of a select group of honourees recognised by the Australian Institute of Architects at the 2019 National Architecture Conference.

The AIA awarded National Prizes to Los Angeles-based Australian expatriates Hank Koning and Julie Eizenberg of Koning Eizenberg Architecture; Australian broadcaster Tim Ross; Cooperative Research Centre for Low Carbon Living; and AIA national president Helen Lochhead for championing Australian design and architecture.

Koning and Eizenberg jointly won the prestigious Gold Medal for their lifelong pursuit of social and community outcomes through architecture. They were honoured for their inclusive design approach that has raised the bar for the design of buildings, particularly for marginalised people and programs.

‘The legacy of their projects lies not just in the bricks and mortar of the buildings themselves, but also in the hearts and minds of all those involved in making sure the lessons learnt extend beyond the property boundaries,’ the jury citation says.

Tim Ross received the National President’s Prize for promoting Australian design – notably modernism and its protection – in popular media. Ross has played a prominent role in campaigns to stop the destruction of heritage landmarks, Save Our Sirius and Hands Off Anzac Hall, while continuing to advocate for Australian architecture and design.

The Leadership in Sustainability Prize was awarded to Cooperative Research Centre for Low Carbon Living, with the jury citation reading, ‘The Cooperative Research Centre for Low Carbon Living has been one of Australia’s pivotal research and innovation hubs, focused on driving our sector towards not only more sustainable development, but also a globally competitive low-carbon future’.

AIA national president Helen Lochhead was awarded the Paula Whitman Leadership in Gender Equity Prize for her commitment to women’s participation and sustained contribution in the industry.

‘Combining her teaching, research, practice and advisory roles, Helen uses her profile to facilitate education opportunities for women in architecture, including establishing scholarships and prizes, and supporting mentoring programs and work placements,’ the jury says.

Award winners also included Vivian Mitsogianni who won the Neville Quarry Architectural Education Prize in recognition of her academic and practice leadership; and Bobbie Bayley and Owen Kelly who received the Student Prize for the Advancement of Architecture for their Grand Section project traversing Australia on bicycle and discussing architecture and design with communities along the 7600km journey.

Full list of winners:

Gold Medal: Hank Koning FRAIA and Julie Eizenberg RAIA - Koning Eizenberg (International)

National President’s Prize: Tim Ross (NSW)

Leadership in Sustainability Prize: Cooperative Research Centre for Low Carbon Living (NSW)

Paula Whitman Leadership in Gender Equity Prize: Helen Lochhead (NSW)

Neville Quarry Architectural Education Prize: Vivian Mitsogianni (Vic)

Student Prize for the Advancement of Architecture:

Winner – Bobbie Bayley and Owen Kelly (NSW)

Commendation – Julius Egan (Vic)

BlueScope Glenn Murcutt Student Prize: Sobi Slingsby (Qld)

Dulux Study Tour

Jennifer McMaster – Trias (NSW); Ben Peake – Carter Williamson Architects (NSW); Alix Smith – Hassell (Vic); Carly McMahon – Liminal Studio (Tas); Phillip Nielsen – Regional Design Service (NSW)