My shortlist (0 item)

    ​Sir Samuel Griffith Centre named Project of the Year at AIQS Infinite Value Awards

    Geraldine Chua

    Winners of the 2014 Australian Institute of Quantity Surveyors (AIQS) Infinite Value Awards were announced late last week, with the top two honours united by their efforts in sustainability.

    The Project of the Year title went to the Sir Samuel Griffith Centre constructed at Griffith University’s Nathan Campus in Brisbane. Submitted by Donald Cant Watts Corke and designed by Cox Rayner Architects, the centre is Australia’s first building relying entirely on photovoltaic arrays and hydrogen-hydride storage technologies to generate its power.

    Photography by Christopher Frederick Jones

    The technology was originally conceived as a means of energising remote communities, and converts solar energy into hydrogen (as metal halides) which are then stored in fuel cells and deployed on demand. By way of this innovation, the Sir Samuel Griffith Centre operates entirely ‘off grid’, generating and storing enough energy to power all its activity from the sun, water and oxygen.

    Director of Rider Levett Bucknall, Canberra, Fiona Doherty (left) won the night’s other biggest honour – the Professional of the Year Infinite Value Award.

    Selected by the judges for her proactive approach to cost saving and efficiency, which is crucial for sustainable development, Doherty said it was very humbling to be recognised by her peers for the honour.

    Winners from across the awards’ 11 categories were eligible for these top prizes, and include the Perth Arena, which took out the Architectural Excellence Award, and 8 Chifley Square, which won the Engineering Excellence honour.

    Michael Manikas, CEO of the AIQS, praised this year’s winners, noting that the building and construction sector is one that constantly pushes boundaries.

    “The AIQS Infinite Value awards are all about highlighting innovation in the sector and these winners really are a snapshot of the future and what is possible for the construction industry,” he said.

    Full list of winners:

    Project of the Year

    Sir Samuel Griffith Centre – Donald Cant Watts Corke

    Professional of the Year

    Fiona Doherty – Rider Levett Bucknall

    Architectural Excellence

    Perth Arena – Ralph Beattie Bosworh

    Engineering Excellence

    8 Chifley Square – Mirvac

    Future Leader

    Irena Kuzman – MBMpl

    Government Project

    Gold Coast University Hospital – Lend Lease

    Innovation Project

    50 Martin Place – MBMpl

    Lifetime Contribution

    Mike O’Shea – MBMpl

    Quantity Surveying Advocacy

    Dr Peter Smith – University of Technology Sydney

    Research & Teaching

    Prof Craig Langston – Bond University

    Sustainable/Green Project

    Sir Samuel Griffith Centre – Donald Cant Watts Corke

    Women in Construction

    Fiona Doherty – Rider Levett Bucknall

    Read Comments

    You May Also Like:

    Back to Top