Southbank’s waterfront will be the site of a pop-up sculptural pavilion that will house some of the world’s biggest names in architecture as they present their vision for a mixed-used concept to transform the precinct. 

Located in front of the red steps, the Beulah Pavilion is designed to be an ephemeral structure that will hold specific events as part of the Southbank by Beulah architectural competition and the Future Cities symposium

The structure will serve both as a public sculpture and a unique presentation room for the six teams who will present their final design concepts for the Southbank by Beulah competition.

The pavilion has been designed to represent the city being in a state of constant motion and change, according to architect Samson Tiew from One Design Office. 

“The pavilion uses concentric frames to capture how iterative progress can be seen as a sculptural outcome where visual interest is formed through the static capture of motion,” he says. 

Whirled around a common axis, the frames are lit by programmed lights to further emphasise movement. 

“We struggled to find a location for the final presentation that captured the essence of what Southbank by Beulah is, so we created something from the ground up; something that is art within itself, but serves a purpose within the context of design,” says Adelene Teh, executive director of Beulah International. 

The six international firms to present include MAD Architects, MVRDV, OMA, UNStudio, Bjarke Ingels Group and Coop Himmelb(l)au alongside Australian firms, Fender Katsalidis Architects, Architectus, Elenberg Fraser, Woods Bagot, Cox Architecture and Conrad Gargett.

Along with the presentations, the pavilion will hold a series of fringe events that highlight the importance of sending the city’s momentum in a specific trajectory to allow for sustainable and positive progress. 

The pop-up Beulah Pavilion will be visible from July 25 to August 1, with the six shortlisted designs available for public viewing following the Future Cities symposium from July 27 to August 1.