Five key projects from retiring Woods Bagot Director Rodger Dalling
Bates Smart appoints new directors, anticipating growth

Roger Poole has retired as Chairman of Bates Smart, and the firm are celebrating his legacy of inspirational design and leadership.

Bates Smart has been preparing for Poole's retirement for the past five years to ensure a seamless operational transition. 

Paying tribute to his inspirational career and life in architecture, Bates Smart Director Jeff Copolov said Poole's contribution to Bates Smart over 41 years is one of continued enduring architectural quality, design excellence, extraordinary client service and professionalism. 

After relocating to Australia in 1974, Poole joined Bates, Smart & McCutcheon as a design architect and was soon actively involved in award-winning projects for the Metropolitan Fire Brigade Headquarters and Collins Place, Melbourne.

In his role as Chairman, Poole's integrity and vision has helped shape Bates Smart into becoming one of Australia’s most successful architecture and interior design firms, delivering award-winning, large scale and high quality projects within the country and overseas.

According to Bates Smart Design Director Kristen Whittle, Poole’s approach to work and life has been an inspiration to the whole of the Bates Smart organisation as well as the firm’s clients.

Post-retirement, Poole will continue to be associated with the practice as a part-time consultant. 

Kristen Whittle, Design Director, will continue to lead the architectural design team in Melbourne and lead strategic project development and feasibility while Philip Vivian and Guy Lake will continue to lead the Sydney studio. 

Jeff Copolov, Interior Design Director, will carry on leading the interior design capability nationwide from his Melbourne base while Simon Swaney, Managing Director, will work between the Melbourne and Sydney studios overseeing delivery and client service at the highest level. 

Jenny Nolan, Finance Director, will continue to work across the Melbourne and Sydney studios to develop and maintain commercial and contractual relationships.

The leadership team is further strengthened by Studio Directors Brenton Smith, Edwina McDermott, Julian Anderson, Matt Allen, Natalie Lane-Rose and Tim Leslie.