My shortlist (0 item)

    AIA Queensland Architecture Award winners announced

    The winners of the Australian Institute of Landscape Architects’ Queensland State Architecture Awards have been announced. 

    According to the judges, the quality of work from regional Queensland has shown a commitment to human-centred design but also a focus on sustainable architecture that is responsive to the unique and varied climates that exist across Queensland.

    The Blackwater Aquatic Centre by Liquid Blu Architects received the highest honour, the FDG Stanley Award for Public Architecture. The project is an acquatic centre that has been integrated into an established sporting precinct that supports regional sporting groups and events. 


    “Providing a small mining community with a cool place of respite and aquatic activities for all ages, the bulwark-like outer layer of rammed earth walls wrap themselves around three elevations affording refuge from the harsh environment,” notes the jury. 

    “The building makes a positive contribution to this community with the architecture responding sensitively to the climate and its rural context. It is seen as a generous public asset, a welcome refuge and oasis within an otherwise remote and harsh setting.” 

    In the residential new build category, the Robin Dods Award for Residential Architecture – Houses (New) was awarded to Stradbroke House by Tim Bennetton Architects with Gabriel Poole. 


    “This lightweight house in the island bush appears as a series of tent structures floating above the land,” notes the jury.

    “Indoor and outdoor spaces flow seamlessly into each other, embracing the natural surrounding landscape physically and visually. There is an inventive wittiness and lyrical delight that brings a sense of joy to the visitor. A magical camping experience infuses this deceptively simple but sophisticated beach house.”

    The Elina Mottram Award for Residential Architecture – Houses (Alterations and Additions) was awarded to Gibbon St by Cavill Architects. 

    Photography by Christopher Frederick Jones

    “The journey from the front door to the roof terrace has pockets of space along the way, a sunken lounge with a close garden view and a floating sitting room overlooking the back yard,” notes the jury.

    “This journey concludes at the rooftop, which feels like a secret hide out to a sweeping view. All of these crafted small spaces contribute to a memorable architectural experience.” 

    Full list of winners:

    Commercial architecture

    Beatrice Hutton Award – The Stores, Cavill Architects in Association with Jasper Brown Architects Award – Robina Market Hall Redevelopment, The Buchan Group Commendation – 88 Limestone, Gibson Architects

    Educational architecture

    Jennifer Taylor Award – The Science Place HASSELL Award – The Centenary Library, Anglican Church Grammar School, Brand + Slater Architects Pty Ltd Award -  The Springfield Anglican College - Year 1 Classrooms, Architecture Kōen Commendation – Griffith University Aquatic Centre, Conrad Gargett Commendation - JK Murray Library Extension & Refurbishment, dwp | design worldwide partnership

    Enduring Architecture 

    Robin Gibson Award – Townsville Courts of Law - Edmund Sheppard Building Hall, Phillips & Wilson Architects Pty Ltd


    Commendation – 259 Queen Street Main Lobby Refurbishment, Cox Architecture + Ruth Woods Architect

    Interior Architecture 

    GHM Addison Award – Gold Coast Sports and Leisure Centre, BVN 
    Award – Headricks Lane, SP Studio Award – Marchetti & Optiko, Cameron & Co Commendation – 1 William Street, Woods Bagot Commendation – NAB Place, Woods Bagot

    Public Architecture 

    FDG Stanley Award - Blackwater Aquatic Centre, Liquid Blu Architects Award – Curra Community Hall,
    Bark Design Architects Award – les wilson barramundi discovery centre, bud brannigan architects Commendation - Gold Coast Sports and Leisure Centre, BVN Commendation: Mary Cairncross Scenic Reserve, Guymer Bailey Architects 

    Residential Architecture – Houses (Alterations and Additions) 

    Elina Mottram Award – Gibbon St, Cavill Architects Award – Camp Hill Cottage, Owen Architecture Award – One Room Tower, phorm architecture + design with Silvia Micheli & Antony Moulis
    Award – Yeronga House, Tim Bennetton Architects Commendation – Milton Residence, m3architecture
    Commendation – Yarrawonga, Counterpoint Architecture 

    Residential Architecture – Houses (New) 

    Robin Dods Award – Stradbroke House, Tim Bennetton Architects with Gabriel Poole
    Award – Carpenter-Hall House, Russell Hall Architects P/L Award – Tarragindi Steel House, Bligh Graham Architects
    Award – V House, Shaun Lockyer Architects Commendation – Avonlea, Robinson Architects Commendation – tinbeerwah house, teeland architects 

    Residential Architecture – Multiple Housing 

    Job & Froud Award – M3565 Main Beach, Virginia Kerridge Architect Award – Abian, Wood Marsh Architecture with Sunland Group Award – Oxley + Stirling, Elenberg Fraser
    Award – Spire Residences, John Wardle Architects Commendation - Kailani Beach Houses, Andrew Bock Architecture

    Small Project Architecture 

    Hayes & Scott Award – Northshore Pavilion, Anna O'Gorman Architect
    Award – Ryan Street Library, Jonathan Goh Architect
    Commendation – Dinosaur Canyon Outpost, Cox Architecture Commendation – UQ Architecture School Entry, m3architecture 

    Sustainable Architecture 

    Harry Marks Award – Mary Cairncross Scenic Reserve, Guymer Bailey Architects
    Award – Blackwater Aquatic Centre, Liquid Blu Architects Award – The Science Place, HASSELL Commendation - Yeronga House, Tim Bennetton Architects 

    Urban Design 

    Karl Langer Award – Parklands, AAA - Arkhefield, ARM and Archipelago Architects
    Award – Beerwah Tower Green, Bark Design Architects
    Commendation – Centenary Lakes Nature Play, PAWA Architecture + LandPlan Commendation - The Link, Lat27


    Award – Gold Coast Sports Precinct, BVN 

    Art & Architecture 

    The Australian Institute of Architects Art & Architecture Prize (Qld) – Corps a’ Corps at the IMA Coutyard, Artist: Celine Condorelli, Architect: Dirk Yates (Speculative Architecture), Landscape Designer: Pete Shields

    Read Comments
    Back to Top