Alison Mirams and Sara Haslinger are among just some of those honoured at last night’s 2018 NAWIC Awards for Excellence, held at the ICC in Sydney.

Hosted by the National Association of Women in Construction NSW Chapter, the 2018 awards attracted more than 100 submissions across 11 categories.

According to NAWIC NSW president Sarah Hogan, “Each year, NAWIC shines a light on this progress. From the apprentice, to the first- year university student, to the CEO, women are now recognised for their contributions and enjoy more career opportunities than what we could have imagined even a few short years ago.”

“A sustainable and successful workforce of women in construction and property must start at the grass roots level. NAWIC’s sustained efforts have helped more women to lead, learn, collaborate, network and celebrate excellence – and as we do the depth and breadth of our female talent pool expands.”

The coveted Lendlease Crystal Vision Award for Advancing the Interests of Women in the Construction Industry was presented to Sara Haslinger.

“Sara was chosen from a competitive field for her work while an executive director at Infrastructure NSW,” says Hogan.

“The judges were impressed with Sara’s design and implementation of a policy which has expanded the number of women on major infrastructure expert review panels.

“This not only diversified panel decision-making, but also exposed the NSW Government to dozens of senior female leaders in construction and infrastructure, and exposed talented women to new career opportunities,” says Hogan.

The Laing O’Rourke Award for Business Woman of the Year was presented to CEO of Roberts Pizzarotti, Alison Mirams.

“A visionary business woman, Alison has risen through the ranks from contract administrator to lead Australia’s newest construction firm,” Hogan says.

“Alison has strong commercial expertise and significant site experience, making her an exceptional role model for women in our industry. Passionate about growing the female talent pool, Alison is a mentor, speaker and promoter of women and girls in construction,” says Hogan.

The full list of winners

Lendlease Crystal Vision Award for Advancing the Interests of Women in the Construction Industry

Winner: Sara Haslinger of Shaw Reynolds, previously of Infrastructure NSW

Merit: Katherine Scevity & Vimala Ferrari for WINTR

Laing O’Rourke Award for Business Woman of the Year

Winner: Alison Mirams, Roberts Pizzarotti

CPB Tradesperson Scholarship

Winner: Taylor Louise Perrin, Capital Veneering

Merit: Katie Wilmshurst, FDC

CBRE University Scholarship

Winner: Erin Louise Gonthier, Master of Sustainable Built Environment, UNSW

Merit: Elizabeth Lau, Bachelor of Construction Project Management, UTS 

Probuild Award for Project Manager of the Year

Winner: Emelye Coleridge, Laing O'Rourke

Procore Scholarship for Future Leader

Winner: Meisha Stevens, Wood & Grieve Engineers

Merit: Alexandra Devlin, Lendlease

Roberts Pizzarotti for Contribution to a Project’s Development

Winner: Angela Jeffery

Merit: Carley Finn, Savills Project Management

John Holland Award for Team Innovation

Winner: Kylie Cochrane and Aurecon HASSELL Award for Innovation in Design

Winner: Elizabeth Creswell, ADCO

MPA Award for Achievement in Construction, Refurbishment and Fitout

Winner: Michele Biruski, Stockland

Acoustic Logic Award for Contribution to Sustainability

Winner: Amy Julie Hogan

According to Martin Wood, general manager, CPB, who presented the CPB Tradesperson Scholarship, “This award recognises achievement in a trade or trade apprenticeship, and encourages the contribution of women undertaking trades in the construction industry. The successful recipient will receive a $2,000 scholarship towards future education and training in their field.”