My shortlist (0 item)

    2015 NT Architecture Awards winners: Alice Springs CBD Revitalisation wins top honours

    Geraldine Chua

    2015 ACT Architecture Award Winners
    2015 Queensland Architecture Award Winners
    2015 Victorian Architecture Award Winners
    2015 Tasmanian Architecture Award Winners
    2015 NSW Architecture Award Winners
    2015 SA Architecture Award Winners
    2015 WA Architecture Award Winners

    Winners of the 2015 Northern Territory (NT) Architecture Awards have been revealed, but it was the rejuvenation of Alice Springs’ community heart that was recognised as the best amongst this year’s pool of projects.

    Alice Springs CBD Revitalisation by Susan Dugdale and Associates was presented with the Tracy Memorial Medal, in addition to the George Goyder Award for Urban Design and the Colorbond Award for Steel Architecture – making it the most awarded project of the Territory’s 2015 program.

    Reopening the northern end of Todd Mall to traffic to promote increased activity while establishing a strong connection between the CBD and Todd River, the project was praised by the awards jury for its local community benefits, cultural aspects and environmental response.


    Photography by Brendan Chan

    They also noted it had successfully incorporated the environmental and indigenous heritage of the community, reduced the street clutter, and provided a comfortable and colourful resting point for locals and visitors alike:

    “The jury commends the council and community for initiating and supporting this project, and the designers for delivering this first stage which has the potential to increase public enjoyment, vibrancy and cultural engagement and most positively shape the future of Alice.”

    Susan Dugdale and Associates also clinched the Award for Commercial Architecture for their design of young construction company Asbuild’s new headquarters – a crisp white rectilinear building that “stands up to the drab chaos of the light industrial surroundings”.

    The People’s Choice Award went to Elevated by ajar architects, a tropical family home that is distinguished by multiple roof layers, internal stairs, a compact enclosed living space, and ample connection to the outside world through a selection of window and door types, and placements.

    The judges were led by Jury Chair Kerry Clare, and included Robert Foote and the Honourable Sally Thomas AC. To read their full citations and commentary, please click HERE. All named winners will now progress to the National Architecture Awards, to be announced on November 5, 2015.

    Full list of winners:

    Commercial Architecture

    Award – Asbuild HQ by Susan Dugdale and Associates. Photography by Susan Dugdale


    Enduring Architecture

    Award – Alice Springs Railway Station by Guy Maron Architects. Photography courtesy of Guy Maron Architects


    Interior Architecture

    Award – Menzies School of Health Research Charles Darwin University by Hames Sharley. Photography by Studio McNaught


    Commendation – Flinders University Northern Territory Medical Program Development by Hames Sharley. Photography by Studio McNaught


    Commendation – Engineers Australia by MODE. Photography by Emma-Jean Turner


    Public Architecture

    Award – Menzies School of Health Research Charles Darwin University by Hames Sharley. Photography by Studio McNaught


    Commendation – Alice Springs Youth & Community Centre – Multi-Purpose Hall by Tangentyere Design. Photography by Sarena Hyland


    Educational Architecture

    Award – Flinders University Northern Territory Medial Program Development by Hames Sharley. Photography by Studio McNaught


    Residential Architecture – Houses (Alterations and Additions)

    Commendation – LIFT by ajar architects. Photography by Anne Nguyen Huyen


    Residential Architecture – Houses (New)

    Award – The Desert House by Dunn and Hillam Architects. Photography by Kilian O Sullivan


    Commendation – Elevated by ajar architects. Photography by David Hancock


    Urban Design

    George Goyder Award – Alice Springs CBD Revitalisation by Susan Dugdale and Associates. Photography by Pip McManus


    COLORBOND® Award for Steel Architecture

    Award – Alice Springs CBD Revitalisation by Susan Dugdale and Associates. Photography by Miriam Wallace


    Additional Prizes

    The Tracy Memorial Award – Alice Springs CBD Revitalisation by Susan Dugdale and Associates

    The Indigenous Community Award – Garma Knowledge Centre by Build Up Design. Photography by Peter Eve


    People’s Choice Award – Elevated by ajar architects

    Emerging Architect Prize – Joanna Best, Troppo Architects

    Student Award – Sarah Young, Charles Darwin University

    Read Comments

    You May Also Like:

    Back to Top