Entries are invited for the 2021 Real Flame's Architectural Design Award for gas fireplace.

The Real Flame Architectural Design Award for Gas Fireplace (ADA) was created to foster innovation within the Australian design industry. The competition is open to all practising and student architects and designers within Australia, with participants getting a chance to win a share of $18,000 in prize money. Entries are evaluated on the basis of design excellence complemented by sound research, a unique application of product and innovation.

The entries can be actual projects or imagined and must meet the minimum criteria as set out in the competition panel. A submission can be rejected if it doesn’t meet the minimum criteria.

Project brief

This should outline the client requirements including the type of fire required, chosen from purely decorative, heating, or a bit of both; the application of the fire, whether residential or commercial; the internal finish being modern, contemporary or traditional; and technical research including flue and ventilation requirements, clearances and construction restraints. The fire should be selected from the current Real Flame range.

Rendered drawings

The final rendered drawings should be in full colour and of a standard suitable to be presented to a client. All final files will be submitted to [email protected] by the closing date.

Concept sketches

These should include a hand sketch of the concept including the space the fire will occupy as well as plan view, front view and sectional view.

Working drawings

The working drawings should be done in any of the drawing software packages available on the AEC page on the Real Flame website. The working drawings should show the framework, fire, flue components, power and gas connections and any other aspects relevant to the concept.

Architectural Design Award 2021 judging panel

The Architectural Design Award 2021 judging panel comprise Justin Gallagher, a senior designer at Bates Smart with over 30 years of experience, and Alice Nadja Sehovic of Architects EAT, who specialises in the delivery of high end luxury projects.

Important dates

Registrations close 31st May 2021.  

Entries close 31st July 2021.

Winners will be announced 31st August 2021.

Register here.