The Australian Interior Design Awards is calling for entries for the 2011 program, which closes on Friday, 4 February. The not-for-profit Awards will celebrate all that is best in Australian residential and commercial interior design.

The Awards will be co-presented by the Design Institute of Australia, designEX and Artichoke magazine, welcoming a new year with a new-look corporate logo and the emotive branding message of “It’s what’s inside that counts”.

The 2011 Australian Interior Design Awards are in their eighth year and they continue to provide international recognition for entrants and generate media and public interest for Australian-based designers operating at professional levels. Last year attracted 613 entries, demonstrating the pre-eminence of the program.

On-line registrations for the awards are now open at the Australian Interior Design Awards website. Entry submissions will be accepted from 1 November through to 4 February for projects completed between 1 September, 2009, and 31 December, 2010.

The shortlist will be published to the general public on Monday 7 March, with the media receiving notification in the week prior. The official announcement and presentation will be made at the Peninsula in Melbourne on Friday 15 April, 2011.

A new category, the Sustainability Advancement Award, replaces the previous Environmentally Sustainable Design Award, and consideration for this is automatic upon entry into one of the Primary Award categories.

Judging is conducted under the supervision of the Design Institute of Australia. The true nature of successful design - what’s inside and out – will be decided by

  • Daniel Dalla Riva, 6 Hats (Vic)
  • Pascale Gomes McNabb, Pascale Gomes McNabb (Vic)
  • Libby Guj, JCY Architects and Urban Designers (WA)
  • Greg Natale, Greg Natale Design (NSW)
  • Susan Rossi, DBI Design (Qld)
  • Matthew Sheargold, Sheargold (NSW)
  • Ninotschka Titchkosky, BVN Architecture (Vic); and
  • Kirrilly Wilson from John Wardle Architects (Vic)
The Sustainability Chairperson is John Gertsakis, WSP Environment & Energy (Vic) and Jury Convenor is Joanne Cys, National President, Design Institute of Australia (FDIA).

Award categories are:

  • Premier Award, Interior Design Excellence and Innovation 
  • Sustainability Advancement Award 
  • Residential Design 
  • Residential Decoration 
  • Retail Design 
  • Hospitality Design 
  • Corporate Design 
  • Public Design 
  • Installation Design 
  • Best of State Awards for Commercial Design 
  • Best of State Awards for Residential Design 
  • Best International Design Award 
  • Colour in Commercial Design 
  • Colour in Residential Design 
  • Emerging Interior Design Practice
Registration and further information can be found on the Australian Interior Design Awards website.