Entries for the 9th Australian Interior Design Awards open today, 1st November 2011.  These prestigious awards are a partnership event from the Design Institute of Australia, designEX and ARTICHOKE magazine, who have more than 100 years combined experience in recognising and furthering Australia’s interior design professionals.  

The Australia Interior Design Awards were introduced as a platform to “encourage and recognise interior design excellence, innovation and experimentation” and entrants receive substantial recognition and press coverage.  There are 7 primary categories as well as 3 optional and 5 additional automatic entrance categories, many of which have leading industry corporate sponsors.  

Who can enter the competition?  

Any Australian based design and architect professionals are encouraged to enter, whether they are individuals, partnerships, groups or part of a large company.  

Do the interior design projects need to be situated in Australia?          

No, both national and international projects are recognised for these awards.  

What are the entry requirements?  

Projects must be furnished and have been completed between 1st September 2010 and 31st December 2011.  The projects must have been carried out by an Australian based design professional or professionals.  

How are entries submitted?  

A new submission system has been implemented for 2012.  Entries are submitted online by visiting the Australian Interior Design Awards website.    Entries should include 6-10 high quality photos of the finished project, along with a PDF floor plan and succinct answers to a number of questions, all of which are taken into account through the judging process.  

When should entries be submitted?  

Entries must be submitted between 1st November 2011 and 14th February 2012.  No late entries will be accepted and it is recommended not to leave entry to the last minute as a quality submission can take some time to complete and upload.  

How are the award categories judged?  

Judging is based on peer reviews and is carried out anonymously by a panel of respected interior design professionals and architects, selected on the basis of their practical expertise, professional standing and high profile.   

When will the judging take place?  

The shortlist will be released on 12th March 2012, with recognitions, commendations and awards being announced at the Awards Dinner on Friday 20th April.  A full report will follow, printed in ARTICHOKE magazine and online.  

Can an interior design project be entered into more than one category?  

Yes, a project can be entered for any relevant primary and optional categories and will be automatically entered into any appropriate automatic categories.  

What are the categories of the Australian Interior Design Awards?  

Primary Categories:  

  • Retail Design Hospitality Design
  • Corporate Design
  • Public Design
  • Installation Design
  • Residential Design
  • Residential Decoration  
Optional Categories:  
  • Colour in Commercial Design
  • Colour in Residential Design
  • Emerging Interior Design Practice  
Automatic Categories:  
  • Best of State Awards for Commercial Design
  • Best of State Awards for Residential Design
  • Best International Design Award
  • Sustainability Advancement Award
  • Premier Award, Interior Design Excellence and Innovation  
Visit the website and find out more details about the Australian Interior Design Awards and entry requirements, as well as to submit entries and view previous award winners.