The Australian Interior Design Awards is calling for entries for the 2012 industry awards program.  

Co-presented by the Design Institute of Australia, designEX and Artichoke magazine, the Australian Interior Design Awards celebrate the best in Australian residential and commercial interior design.  

The 9-year-old design awards program is considered one of the most prestigious platforms for recognising professional interior design.  

Event manager Jacinta Reedy explains that the Awards put the spotlight on Australian-based designers who are working to high professional standards and provide important international recognition as well.  

That the Awards have been embraced by the interior design industry is reflected in the huge increase in applications over the years. Award winners are additionally featured in leading international publications from Europe, South Africa, Asia and New Zealand, bringing Australian designers to the attention of an increasingly global marketplace.  

Online registrations for the 2012 Australian Interior Design Awards are now open. Entry submissions will be accepted until Tuesday 14 February, 2012 for projects completed between 1 September 2010 and 31 December 2011.  

The Awards shortlist will be published online on 12 March and the Awards will be announced during a gala dinner on Friday 20 April at Doltone House, Jones Bay Wharf, Sydney, coinciding with designEX.  

Judging is supervised by the Design Institute of Australia and jurors are Robert Backhouse, Managing Director, HASSELL (Vic), Paul Brace, Director of Interiors, Jackson Teece (NSW), Rosina Di Maria, Principal, Woods Bagot (SA), Susan Rossi, Director of Interior Design, DBI Design (Qld), Ryan Russell, Director, Russell & George (Vic), Kirsten Stanisich, Director, SJB (NSW), Daniel Stellini, Director, Carr Design Group (Vic) and Nick Tobias, Director, Tobias Partners (NSW).  

The Australian Interior Design Awards are given across 15 award categories to represent all facets of the industry.  

The Australian Interior Design Awards categories:  

  • Sustainability Advancement Award
  • Residential Design
  • Residential Decoration
  • Retail Design
  • Hospitality Design
  • Workplace Design
  • Public Design
  • Installation Design
  • Best of State Awards for Commercial Design
  • Best of State Awards for Residential Design
  • Best International Design Award
  • Colour in Commercial Design
  • Colour in Residential Design
  • Emerging Interior Design Practice