Architecture student Liz Walsh was awarded the prestigious Australian Institute of Architects Graduate Prize in Architecture at a special exhibition at the UTAS School of Architecture & Design in Launceston.  

The prize includes $1000 in cash and two years’ graduate membership of the Institute. Based on academic performance, a portfolio of work and an interview, the award recognises the recipient’s preparedness for entry into the architectural profession as well as their development potential.  

Five students completing their Masters of Architecture program at UTAS School of Architecture & Design were shortlisted for the prize. The students included Liz Walsh, Ed Bourke, Bek Verrier, Jenna Rowe and Nikki Holdsworth.    

Jury panel member Neal Mackintosh from Hobart firm JAWSARCHITECTS notes that Liz’s work ‘shows a proficient understanding of the complexities of the design process and an ability to articulate and communicate solutions through a variety of media’.  

According to Mr Mackintosh, Liz exhibited an ability to conceptualise and then realise sensitive design solutions underpinned by a keen sense of how users would engage with the spaces she created.  

He added that she already displayed an ability to construct highly crafted and experiential spaces.  

The jury panel, which also included Associate Professor Leigh Woolley and Phil Dingemanse from Launceston firm Birrelli, noted that ‘Liz is an enthusiastic, skilled and committed designer, whose portfolio of work conveys a highly responsive aesthetic sensibility and appreciation of the built environment’.  

The jury panel was extremely encouraged by the standard of the candidates, which made selection of the award-winner very difficult.  

Tasmanian President of the Institute, Karen Davis said the Institute aims to contribute to the development of architectural education so that the future of the profession can be secured. She also thanked JAWSARCHITECTS for their generous sponsorship of the prize and added that it was befitting to present the prize during National Architecture Week.