A building that sets a new standard for commercial projects in Perth has won top honours at the 2011 Western Australian Architecture Awards organised by the Australian Institute of Architects.  

This year’s winners were announced by WA President David Karotkin at a special awards ceremony in Perth.  

The winning commercial project, one40william by national architecture practice HASSELL was the recipient of three major awards: 

  • The George Temple Poole Award 2011 
  • The Ross Chisholm Award for Commercial Architecture 
  • The John Septimus Roe Award for Urban Design
Explaining their selection of the project for the George Temple Poole Award, the jury made specific mention of the State Government’s initiative in including design quality commitments in the tenders for the right to develop the site above the new William Street underground train station. 

According to the jury, the winning commercial project delivers heritage, sustainability, urban and workplace outcomes that create a new benchmark for commercial projects in Perth. The project involved complex construction challenges associated with building over an operating train station in addition to incorporating heritage building fabric into the works, and delivering a high quality addition to the urban grain of Perth's central retail and business district.   

The building also sets a benchmark in environmental sustainability, achieving a 5 star Green Star Office Design rating.  

The jury presented 49 awards and commendations across 12 categories from 141 entries submitted from across the State.  

The State Theatre Centre of Western Australia in Perth’s CBD designed by leading architecture practice Kerry Hill Architects was one of the major award winners, receiving three awards and commendations from the jury:

  • The Jeffrey Howlett Award for Public Architecture 
  • The Julius Elischer Award for Interior Architecture 
  • Commendation in the Mondoluce Lighting Award category  
The Albany Entertainment Centre by Cox Howlett & Bailey Woodland in association with Roberts Gardiner also received an Architecture Award in the Public Architecture category. 

Several residential projects also competed for awards at the WA Architecture Awards including the Florida Beach House by iredale pedersen hook architects, recipients of WA’s most prestigious residential award, the Marshall Clifton Award for Residential Architecture – Houses.   

The equally prestigious Marshall Clifton Award for Residential Architecture – Alterations and Additions was presented to architecture practice vittinoAshe for Hope Street. In a multiple win for the project and practice, the jury also presented it with the Iwan Iwanoff Award for Small Project Architecture.  

A development of 60 apartments and seven terraces in North Fremantle took out the State’s top multiple housing award. The Harold Krantz Award for Residential Architecture – Multiple Residential was presented to the Beachside Leighton North by Kerry Hill Architects and spaceagency in association with Mirvac Design. 

The Grove Library at Cottesloe by Cox Howlett & Bailey Woodland received the Walter Greenham Sustainable Architecture Award.   

The Margaret Pitt Morison Award for Heritage was presented to the Legislative Council Chamber Upgrade by Oldfield Knott Architects Pty Ltd.  

The Colorbond Award for Steel Architecture was presented to the VTEC Training WA Metal Fabrication Training Facility in Kalgoorlie by Armstrong Parkin Architects.  

Bindoon Bakehaus & Café, a new country bakehouse and café by Fratelle Group received the Mondoluce Lighting Award.