The NSW minister for Planning and Housing, Anthony Roberts has appointed two new Regional Commissioners, Miriam Dayhew and Frank Holles.

Roberts says Dayhew, chair of Regional Development Australia Riverina, and Holles, a barrister and member of the NSW Civil and Administrative Tribunal would provide independent and expert advice on regional planning issues.

“These new NSW Regional Commissioners will play a vital role in making sure the voice of regional NSW is heard even more loudly and clearly in the planning process,” says Roberts.

“Miriam and Frank will work closely with the NSW Department of Planning’s regional teams and with other Local, State and Federal authorities to deliver regional projects.

“NSW Regional Commissioner will be advocates for economic opportunities to support thriving regional communities and will provide me with advice on how we can address the impacts that come from declining populations.”

 “They will help to facilitate greater consultation and engagement with stakeholders, including government, community, farmers and industry on regional planning issues,” he says.

The NSW Regional Commissioners will:

  • Provide independent and expert advice on regional and strategic planning matters, including the development of local plans;
  • Work collaboratively with the Department’s regional teams to provide advice and support and assist in resolving issues;
  • Coordinate State, Federal and Local Government efforts and work collaboratively with stakeholders to support regional planning objectives, deliver regional projects and infrastructure;
  • Engage and partner with community groups to facilitate good regional outcomes and ensure the concerns of regional communities are properly incorporated into Government programs;
  • Ensure greater transparency and accountability in planning decisions.

The NSW Department of Planning and Environment is also currently recruiting for a NSW Coastal Regions Commissioner.