Projects from the USA and Singapore have been selected as finalists for the 2016 International Highrise Award (IHA).

As one of the world’s most significant architectural prizes for highrises, the award is given to projects that demonstrate criteria of future-oriented design, functionality, innovative building technology, integration into urban development schemes, sustainability, and cost-effectiveness.

Australia’s Architectus is the only Australian firm to have won the honour, taking the prize in 2012 for its 1 Bligh project in Sydney, designed in conjunction with German firm Ingenhoven Architects.

The 2016 shortlist includes Four World Trade Center, New York by Maki & Associates, 432 Park Avenue, New York by Rafael Viñoly Architects, Skyhabit, Singapore by Safdie Architects, [email protected], Singapore by WOHA Architects, and VIΛ 57 West, New York by BIG.

The jury noted the trend in high-rise development away from office buildings and towards residential towers, as well as the geographic dichotomy of the finalists.

“Asia versus America is an interesting conclusion at this point – they are the defining forces on the map,” said jury member Ole Scheeren. “In Asia you can see the impact of the tropical, climatic and environmental consequences are very well translated into new types of residential high-rises. In New York the finalists all show some way of power-statement.”

The winning project will be awarded by the City of Frankfurt/Main together with Deutsches Architekturmuseum (DAM) and DekaBank Deutsche Girozentrale at Frankfurt’s Paulskirche on November 2, 2016.


Four World Trade Center, New York by Maki & Associates

432 Park Avenue, New York by Rafael Viñoly Architects

Skyhabit, Singapore by Safdie Architects

[email protected], Singapore by WOHA Architects

VIΛ 57 West, New York by BIG

Images: International Highrise Award