The products awarded the prestigious Good Design stamp of the Chicago Athenaeum Museum of Architecture and Design and Metropolitan Arts Press have been announced for 2014.

The Museum's annual Good Design Awards Program recognises what they consider the most innovative and cutting-edge industrial, product, and graphic designs produced around the world.

It includes buildings products, flooring, lighting, furniture and many new consumer products designed and manufactured in Europe, Asia, Africa, and North and South America.

Hundreds of leading winning manufacturers and Fortune 500 companies print the Good Design logo for awarded products on their packaging and marketing information.

Entries for design and innovation, sustainability, creativity, branding, ecologically responsible design, human factors, materials, technology, graphic arts, packaging, and universal design are submitted annually by various industrial design and graphic design firms.

Formica® Brand Laminate Anniversary Collection was awarded in 2014


The emphasis of the Good Design program is on quality design of the highest form, function, and aesthetics a standard beyond ordinary consumer products and graphics. The Chicago Athenaeum's Good Design program forwards the ideals of a design process that embodies product excellence and endurance and strong public identity.

Iconic Skin-All-Glass Facade Element, Seele GmbH, Germany was awarded in 2014

Submissions to the program are judged by a jury of distinguished design professionals and leading industry specialists and design press on criteria established in the original 1950 program for the highest aesthetic in terms of innovative design, new technologies, form, materials, construction, concept, function, utility, and energy efficiency, and sensitivity to the environment.

Also awarded is the Duna Lounge Chair - 2013 . Designers: Felipe Bezerra and André Gurgel, Mula Preta Design, Natal, Brazil. Manufacturer: Lyra Moveis, Natal, Brazil

Other companies that have won Good Design include 3M Company, Absolut Company, Apple, Inc., Alessi SpA., Allsteel, ASSA ABLOY, Armstrong World Industries, Formica Corporation,, Hansgrohe, Herman Miller, Hunter Douglas, Interface, Kartell, Robert Bosch GmbH, Royal Philips Electronics, Skidmore, Owings & Merrill LLP, Siemens, Steelcase, and hundreds others.

The Complete List of Awards can be viewed at the Museum's website at