My shortlist (0 item)

    Women in construction celebrated at 2014 NAWIC Awards

    Geraldine Chua

    Both individual excellence and exceptional teamwork have been recognised at the National Association of Women in Construction (NAWIC) NSW Chapter 2014 Awards for Excellence.

    Announced last night, 21 August, at The Star in Sydney, the awards were established in 1986 to honour the achievements and encourage the advancement of women in construction in NSW.

    This year, the night’s top honour – the Laing O’Rourke Crystal Vision Award – went to Raquel Rubalcaba, senior project manager at Laing O’Rourke. Rubalcaba had implemented an industry-leading 26 week paid parental leave and flexible working policy at Laing O’Rourke.

    The policy combines paid parental leave with a keep-in-touch program, return to work coaching and flexible work options for all employees.

    NAWIC’s NSW Chapter President Sarah Hogan praised Rubalcaba for encouraging meaningful change in her organisation.

    “The judges were impressed by Raquel’s passion and drive to contribute to the industry in which she has been involved for 2 years. We salute Raquel as a role model for other women in the industry,” says Hogan.

    Full list of category and merit winners:

    Master Builders Association & Clinton Recruitment Award for Team Innovation

    Winner: Davenport Campbell for the QBE Global Head Office Project

    Merit: Westpac Tenancy Fitout Team, comprising of Lend Lease and Geyer, for the Westpac Global Head Office

    Lend Lease Scholarship for Future Leaders

    Winner: Hannah Mahoney-Hayes, Structural Engineer, Taylor Thomson Whittling

    DTZ University Scholarship

    Winner: Alissa Thivakon, University of Newcastle

    Brookfield Johnson Controls Tradesperson Scholarship

    Winner: Kristina Murray, Home Control & Audio

    MPA Award for Achievement in Construction, Refurbishment and Fit Out

    Winner: Jade Nicholson, Site Engineer, Brookfield Multiplex, for the Charles Perkins Centre Project at the University of Sydney, Camperdown Campus

    Brookfield Multiplex Award for Contribution to a Projects Development

    Winner: Miranda Kossen-Markezic, Senior Project Engineer, Thiess, for the Frederickton to Eungai Pacific Highway Upgrade Project

    Merit: Lucy Guerin, Jones Lang LaSalle, for her contribution to the Westpac Group Retail Program

    John Holland Business Woman of the Year Award

    Winner: Rachel Luchetti, Director, Luchetti Krelle

    Acoustic Logic Award for Contribution to Sustainability

    Winner: Esther Bailey, Better Buildings Partnership Manager, City of Sydney

    Now Careers Project Management Award

    Winner: Dominique Gill, Project Manager, Built

    Stockland Award for Innovation in Design

    Winner: Alex Wessling, Project Manager, MBMO Architects for the Sydney Adventist Hospital Stage 1 Redevelopment Project

    Read Comments
    Back to Top