Three of West Australia’s most respected architectural firms - Taylor Robinson, Chaney Architecture and Broderick Architects - will join forces this week, forming what they say will be an “exciting and innovative firm that will respond to the changing architecture industry and deliver enhanced expertise for its clients.”

Current directors Eamon Broderick, Fred Chaney, Leigh Robinson and Graham Taylor will lead the now-named Taylor Robinson Chaney Broderick in co-director roles.

Over the past few years, the three studios have individually been responsible for some of Western Australia’s most innovative retail, educational and corporate projects, including Curtin University Engineering Pavilion, Scotch College Middle School, The Merrywell at Crown and the Ocean Keys Shopping Centre.

Taylor Robinson’s Graham Taylor said the merger comes amongst a widespread evolution in the design of spaces used by the public and Taylor Robinson Chaney Broderick will be well placed to meet these changing trends.

“More often we are seeing spaces used by the public as having more than one purpose – they have become places of extended habitation and socialisation - by a public far more aware of design quality and how it influences the use of these spaces,” he says.

Chaney Architecture’s Fred Chaney says the philosophy, culture and work within the individual studios is strongly aligned, which has led to the joint decision to become one team.

“Our combined skills and experience will deliver highly creative design responses for our clients, while maintaining the personalised approach that has been fundamental to each of our studios,” Chaney says.