A list of architecture firms and artists participating in the inaugural Chicago Architecture Biennial has been released by organisers and includes Australians David Neustein and Grace Mortlock of otherothers.

Participants will convene in Chicago for three months, beginning October 3, 2015, for what the organisers are calling the largest international survey of contemporary architecture in North America.

Over 60 studios—representing more than 30 countries across five continents—were selected by Biennial Co-Artistic Directors Joseph Grima and Sarah Herda, who were supported by an advisory committee comprising David Adjaye, Elizabeth Diller, Jeanne Gang, Frank Gehry, Sylvia Lavin, Hans Ulrich Obrist, Lord Peter Palumbo, and Stanley Tigerman.

Australians Neustein and Mortlock, founders of otherothers – a design organisation that undertakes research, curation, competitions, events, exhibitions, graphics and communication—were the only Australians announced as participants.  Neustein and Mortlock will join a host of internationally acclaimed architects (listed below) in presenting their architectural works at different sites across the city.

Co-artistic director Herda said the biennial will present experimental architecture to the public domain in a way that is meaningful for architects and Chicagoans alike.

“Our goal is to create an exhibition and public program that is meaningful to both the public and architecture professionals,” said Herda.

“The Biennial is an incredible opportunity to present experimental and provocative architectural projects and ideas in a very public platform, and in a city that continues to be an inspiration to architects across the world.”

Her co-director Joseph Grima added:

“During our research, we have had conversations with hundreds of architects working in radically different cultural, social, and economic conditions. The Biennial is an occasion to explore the inspiring work that a new architectural generation is producing.”

Full list announced by organisers:

  • Australia: otherothers / David Neustein & Grace Mortlock
  • Belgium: OFFICE / Kersten Geers David Van Severen
  • Brazil: RUA Arquitetos
  • Canada: Lateral Office
  • Chile: Pezo von Ellrichshausen
  • Chile: TOMA
  • China: OPEN Architecture/ Li Hu & Huang Wenjing
  • China: Rural Urban Framework
  • China: WAI Architecture Think Tank
  • Colombia: El Equipo de Mazzanti / Giancarlo Mazzanti
  • Colombia: Plan:b Arquitectos / Felipe Mesa & Federico Mesa
  • Denmark: Bjarke Ingels Group / BIG
  • Ecuador: Al Borde
  • France: Anne Lacaton & Jean-Philippe Vassal and Frederic Druot
  • France: Didier Faustino
  • France: LIST / Ido Avissar
  • France/Thailand: New-Territories/M4 / Francois Roche & Camille Lacadee
  • Germany: Kéré Architecture / Francis Kéré
  • Germany: Kuehn Malvezzi
  • Greece: Andreas Angelidakis
  • Indonesia/United Kingdom: Csutoras & Liando
  • Italy: studio Albori
  • Japan: Atelier Bow-Wow
  • Japan: junya.ishigami+associates
  • Japan: Onishimaki + Hyakuda Architects
  • Japan: Sou Fujimoto Architects
  • The Netherlands: Iwan Baan
  • The Netherlands: RAAAF
  • Nigeria/The Netherlands: NLÉ / Kunlé Adeyemi
  • Mexico: Frida Escobedos
  • Mexico: Pedro&Juana
  • Mexico: PRODUCTORA
  • Mexico: Santiago Borja
  • Mexico: Tatiana Bilbao S.C.
  • Pakistan: Yasmeen Lari / Heritage Foundation Pakistan
  • South Korea: Mass Studies / Minsuk Cho
  • South Korea: Moon Hoon
  • Spain: Carlos Bunga
  • Spain: MAIO
  • Spain/USA: Andrés Jaque/Office for Political Innovation
  • Thailand: Allzone/Rachaporn Choochuey
  • United Kingdom: Assemble
  • United States: ArandaLasch
  • United States: Bureau Spectacular / Jimenez Lai
  • United States: Design With Company
  • United States: Erin Besler Besler & Sons
  • United States: Indie Architecture + Paul Preissner Architects
  • United States: John Ronan Architects
  • United States: Johnston Marklee
  • United States: Marshall Brown Projects
  • United States: MOS / Michael Meredith and Hilary Sample
  • United States: Norman Kelley
  • United States: PORT
  • United States: SO-IL
  • United States: Studio Gang
  • United States/Spain: Lluís Ortega / Sio2arch
  • United States: UrbanLab
  • United States: Weathers
  • United States: Amanda Williams
  • United States: WORKac+ Ant Farm / Amale Andraos & Dan Wood, Chip Lord & Curtis Schreier
  • United States/Norway: Bryony Roberts
  • Vietnam: VTN / Vo Trong Nghia Architects
  • Zimbabwe/South Africa/United Kingdom: Studio [D] Tale