The Australian Library and Information Association (ALIA) has announced the winners of its inaugural Library Design Awards 2017, during a ceremony held in Melbourne.

Five libraries came out on top from a list of 33 entries. Winners were awarded across a number of categories related to library design, including public, school, academic and ‘special’ libraries.

The award for the Public Library category went to the City of Perth Library by Kerry Hill Architects, which was designed with dedicated floors to target different demographics. For instance, a floor for young children features appropriately-designed furniture and soft surfaces. A young adult floor, on the other hand, is fitted out with study rooms and recreation areas.

City of Perth Library by Kerry Hill Architects received the Public Library award. Image: ALIA

Other awarded projects were St Joseph’s Nudgee College Hanly Learning Centre by m3architecture, Western Sydney University’s John Phillips Library by Allen Jack+Cottier Architects, and Arup Library by BVN.

The eight-level, geodesic-tile-and-glass Geelong Library & Heritage Centre by ARM Architecture was recognised with the AILA Members’ Choice award.

3.jpgGeelong Library & Heritage Centre by ARM Architecture received the ALIA Members' Choice Award. Photography by Emma Cross

The judging panel took a wide range of factors into consideration when deciding the winners of the inaugural ALIA Library Design Awards. Judging criteria incorporated the architects’ or designers’ objectives, the community response, value for money, size of the budget, whether the project was a new build or a refurbishment, innovation and quality of the design, sense of place and how the structure fitted into its environment.

ALIA said they created the Library Design Awards to showcase the best in contemporary library design – encompassing both interiors and exteriors – within Australia. They are also intended as a celebration of the investment in libraries made by the country’s institutions, corporations, and governments at the local, state and territory levels.

Winners and commendations from the inaugural ALIA Library Design Awards 2017:



City of Perth Library (WA) by Kerry Hill Architects
City-of-Perth-Library.jpgCity-of-Perth-Library_2.jpgImages: ALIA


  • Rockdale Library, Bayside Council (NSW) by CK Design International in association with Leffler Simes Architects and Stevenson and Turner
  • Sunshine Library, Brimbank Libraries (VIC) by Lyons Principal Consultant
  • Mary Davies Library and Community Centre, City of Rockingham Library Service (WA) by Site Architecture
  • Geelong Library & Heritage Centre, Geelong Regional Library Corporation (VIC) by ARM Architecture
  • North Lakes Library, Moreton Bay Region Libraries (QLD) by PDT Architects
  • Success Public Library, City of Cockburn (WA) by Bollig Design Group
  • Woollahra Library Double Bay (NSW) by BVN



Hanly Learning Centre, St Joseph’s Nudgee College (QLD) by m3architecture
Hanly-Learning-Centre.jpgImage: m3architecture Hanly-Learning-Centre_2.jpgImage: ALIA


  • Potter Library, All Hallows’ School (QLD) by Fulton Trotter Architects
  • The Information Resource Centre, Carey Baptist Grammar School (VIC) by Hayball
  • The Learning Hub, St Andrew's Anglican College (QLD) by Wilsons Architects
  • Junior School Library, Duncraig Campus, St Stephen's School (WA) by CODA Studio
  • Research Learning Centre, Brisbane Girls Grammar School (QLD) by m3architecture



John Phillips Library, Western Sydney University (NSW) by Allen Jack+Cottier Architects
John-Phillips-Library.jpgJohn-Phillips-Library_2.jpgImages: ALIA


  • Reid Library, University of Western Australia (WA) by Schin Architects



Arup Library (NSW) by BVN
Arup-7.jpgImage: ALIA


  • Barwon Health Library (VIC) by Daryl Pelchin Architects


Geelong Library & Heritage Centre, Geelong Regional Library Corporation (VIC) by ARM Architecture
EC151101_ECP8851_web.jpgPhotography by Emma Cross
20151212_JG_3595.jpgPhotography by John Gollings