Winners of Australia’s premier sustainable building awards program have been announced, with The Commons by Breathe Architecture in Melbourne taking top honours.

Selected from a pool of eight category winners, the project was honoured with the Best of the Best Award for embodying a range of holistic approaches that showcase how sustainability is an essential part of a positive future.

This includes working with a difficult and damaged site, pursuing de-materialisation, and creating affordable and delightful housing that provides opportunities to live lighter and better.

“Importantly, the creation and realisation of this project by the architects and their team shows we can all dream what the future should be, and then make it happen,” the 2014 Sustainability Awards judges, who were unanimous in their decision, said.

The project also won the Multi-Density Residential category - after a close competition with notable developments One Central Park and Forte - for its focus (and success) in doing more with less – a concept the jury believes is inspiring amidst an environment where housing is becoming increasingly unattainable for many.

Joining The Commons on the pedestal for the night was the Colour House by Ande Bunbury Architects (image left), 8 Chifley by Mirvac/ Lippmann Partnership in collaboration with Rogers Stirk Harbour + Partners (image right), and Outpost 742709-9 by Drew Heath Architects.













BlueScope’s next generation COLORBOND Steel took out the Innovation of the Year category, commended by the jury for its continual improvements in performance, longevity as well as sustainability – a commitment that goes beyond the demands of short term profitability.

The winners were selected by this year’s judges, which consists of PIDCOCK - Architecture + Sustainability founder, Caroline Pidcock; Dick Clarke, director of sustainable building consultancy Envirotecture; Gerard Reinmuth, founding director of architecture practice TERROIR and Professor of Practice at University of Technology, Sydney (UTS); and marketing professional and ‘anti-greenwash’ expert, Suzie Barnett.

Established in 2006, the Sustainability Awards were created to encourage and reward Australia's best practice in sustainable building and architecture design. This year, a record number of finalists made the cut, all of which exhibit exceptional standards.

Full list of winners (click on each winner for more information):

Best of the Best

The Commons by Breathe Architecture

Single Dwelling (New)

Forest Lodge ECO House by Chris Knierim, Code Green

Highly Commended: Stonewood by Breathe Architecture

Single Dwelling (Alterations & Additions)

Colour House by Ande Bunbury Architects

Highly Commended: Light Cannon House by carterwilliamson architects

Multi-density Residential

The Commons by Breathe Architecture

Highly Commended: Forte by Lend Lease

Highly Commended: One Central Park by Ateliers Jean Nouvel and PTW Architects

Large Commercial

8 Chifley by Lippmann Partnership in collaboration with Rogers Stirk Harbour + Partners

Highly Commended: Legion House by FJMT

Small Commercial

Outpost 742709-9 by Drew Heath Architects

Highly Commended: Whites Dispensary by Studio Equator

Office Fitout

Highly Commended: JWT Presentation Space by MAKE Architecture

Public Building & Urban Design

University of Queensland Global Change Institute by HASSELL

Highly Commended: Sir Samuel Griffith Centre by Cox Rayner Architects

Landscape Design

Prince Alfred Park + Pool Upgrade Sue Barnsley Design (in association with Neeson Murcutt Architects)

Highly Commended: Birrarung Marr Stormwater Harvesting & Landscape Integration Project by Cardno, Urban Initiatives and Jones & Whitehead

Innovation of the Year

Next generation COLORBOND steel by BlueScope

Highly Commended: DESSO AirMaster with DESSO EcoBase backing


View all 70 finalists for this year’s awards in this interactive video: