The Australian Institute of Landscape Architecture (AILA) have announced the jury for the 2014 edition of the National Landscape Architecture Awards.

Five jurors - four landscape architects and one architect - have been selected from across the country to judge this year’s most outstanding landscape architecture projects.

Daniel Bennett (SA), Adrian Pilton (NSW), Lorrae Wild (VIC), Catherine Keirnan (ACT) and Shane Thompson (Architect, QLD) make up the panel and will announce the winners at the award ceremony to be held in Brisbane in October.

National awards submissions were open from 18 February to 15 April 2014 and attracted 82 entries.

”The 2014 AILA National Landscape Architecture Awards jury is comprised of well-respected professionals from across Australia,“ AILA National President, Mark Frisby said.

”The jury brings a vast array of knowledge and experience in selecting this year’s most exceptional landscape architecture projects.”

Frisby also says that the AILA national awards program is set to be reviewed, with the aim of having a new program in place for 2015. The review of the awards project will ensure that AILA is recognising the increasingly diverse project work undertaken by its members.

The Awards will coincide with the first ever Festival of Landscape Architecture, which will take place in Brisbane from 16 - 18 October 2014.

The Festival will feature a diverse range of events including the National Conference, National Landscape Architecture Awards, Education & Research Summit, plus a vast array of tours and fringe activities.

The jury will meet in May to deliberate, and the national awards shortlist will be announced in July.

About the National Landscape Architecture Awards Jurors (courtesy of AILA):

Daniel Bennett

Bennett is an award winning registered landscape architect and urban designer with over 15 years’ experience across a wide range of city shaping projects in Australia, the United Kingdom and China. Daniel has just commenced a new strategic design and transport strategy role with Adelaide City Council following almost 3 years as lead urban designer for the $1.6b Sydney Light Rail project. For 8 years he was a Principal at Hassell, leading the Adelaide studio’s landscape architecture and urban design team. Between 2009-2013 he was Vice President of the SA Chapter of AILA.


Adrian Pilton

Pilton studied Architecture at the Queens University of Belfast and Landscape Architecture at the University of Sheffield. He has had over 40 years of experience and has particular interests in urban and landscape design. As Director of JPW, a multi-disciplinary design practice, Adrian is heavily involved in community and professional affairs. He has been the National President of the Australian Institute of Landscape Architects, President of the NSW Branch of the Association of Consulting Architects, and Chairman of the NSW Building Design Professions Group.



Lorrae Wild

Wild leads the Landscape and Urban Design team within VicRoads and is a respected landscape architect and urban designer committed to achieving quality, context-sensitive urban design outcomes of large scale infrastructure projects. Her work and research currently focuses on better precinct and transit planning around railway stations in order to stimulate urban renewal. Lorrae has extensive consulting experience in both private and public sector roles including a stint as Regional Landscape Architect in the Latrobe region.



Catherine Keirnan

Kiernan is a career landscape architect who has worked for both private consulting and government, in design, urban planning, strategic policy and project management. Prior to joining the ACT Government, her expertise was recognised by repeat Ministerial appointments to the ACT Heritage Council and the ACT Urban Design Advisory Committee. Catherine has an ongoing commitment to the professional community and life of the Institute, with a continuing involvement in the University of Canberra landscape school.




Shane Thompson

Thompson is a prominent Australian architect and Principal of Shane Thompson Architects, a studio he established after 24 years as a Principal of BVN Architecture where he was instrumental in their growth as a major national practice and their emerging international reputation. Shane has also been appointed to a number of boards including the Queensland Board for Urban Places, Queensland Industry Advisory Board, Architecture Australia Editorial Advisory Boards and the Queensland College of Art Industry Advisory Board. He is the current Immediate Past President of the AIA QLD Chapter and an AIA National Councillor.


Visit for more information.