Design Is…, an international architecture and design awards program, has released the 2014 winners list for the Asia Pacific region which features two Australian architectural projects.

The program is sponsored by commercial flooring company, Shaw Contract Group (SCG) and requires that all entries emphasise a flooring design that utilises a product from the company’s range.

The Australian Communications and Media Authority project designed by peckvonhartel Architects and the Melton Library and Learning Hub by Francis-Jones Morehen Thorp (FJMT) were announced as winners in the Government category from the Asia Pacific region and will now continue on to the global edition of the awards.

According to SCG Australia General Manager, Paul McCosker, the peckvonhartel (pictured above) and FJMT projects (pictured below) represented the highest calibre of work within the government/civic segment.

“A global panel of judges consisting of some of the most profound voices in global architecture and design selected 40 winners out of more than 350 entries submitted from 25 countries,”McCosker said.

“There were 16 Australian and New Zealand entries and we are elated to see two of these entries advance to the Global Award program,” he said.

Market Award winners will be recognized in SCG’s annual NeoCon magazine and featured on They are also a part of People’s Choice voting which concludes Friday 11 July, 2014.

Global winners will be announced in September and according to SCG will be promoted through marketing materials, media promotion and an advertisement campaign in leading architecture and design publications

In addition, winning firms receive $2,000 to donate to the school or organization of their choice.

The awards are organised into market categories, from which winners of each group will continue on to be entered in the global awards program and People’s Choice voting.

The categories:

  • Healthcare
  • Education
  • Government
  • Public Space
  • Retail
  • Hospitality
  • Large Office (greater than 50,000 square feet)
  • Midsize Office (10,000 – 50,000 square feet)
  • Small Office (less than 10,000 square feet)

SCG shows ten projects from Australia that were entered in this year’s program including:

  • The Australian Communications and Media Authority by peckvonhartel - Government category winner.
  • Toyota WA Head Office by Roxby Architects
  • Department of Environment and Primary Industries Attwood Redevelopment Stage 1 by Spowers
  • Melton Library and Learning Hub by Francis-Jones Morehen Thorp - Government category winner
  • MEGT Ability by Curtis + Whitfield
  • Auckland Girls Grammar School i-Centre by Brewer Davidson Architects Ltd
  • Taylors Lakes Secondary College Performing Arts Centre by Shanley Management Services
  • Australian Communications and Media Authority by peckvonhartel
  • Chester Hill Library by QOH architects
  • Aqualink Box Hill by Williams Ross Architects

Images: peckvonhartel - Ian Ten Seldom Photography, FJMT - Supplied