My shortlist (0 item)

    51 Australian projects shortlisted for 2013 WAF Awards

    Geraldine Chua

    51 Australian projects by 34 Architecture firms have been included in the shortlist for the World Architecture Festival Awards that will be judged in Singapore this October.

    This includes BVN Donovan Hill, Cox Rayner Architects, Hassell, Woodhead, JPW, Neeson Murcutt, Cox Architecture and ARM Architecture, all of which have multiple listings.

    Past Australian winners include Bates Smart in partnership with Billard Leece for the Royal Children’s Hospital in Melbourne, fjmt for Darling Quarter in Sydney, and the Shearer’s Quarter in North Bruny Island by John Wardle Architects.

    As the largest festival and live awards programme for the global architecture community, WAF attracts entries from across the world in over 40 separate categories ranging from civic and community to future projects.

    Winner of Villa Project of the Year 2012: Shearer's Quarter on North Bruny Island, Australia, John Wardle Architects

    It is anticipated that more than 300 architecture practices will travel to Singapore to present their projects to 95 international judges, who will work in juries to decide the winning projects.

    “The increasing number of Australian projects being shortlisted in the World Architecture Festival awards is a tremendous confidence booster for Australian architects,” says National Director of BVN Donovan Hill James Grose.

    “For some time now, Australian architecture has been defined on the world stage by its derivation from the unique landscape. As urban projects become more prominent, Australian design is incrementally making our cities equal to anywhere in the world.”

    Shortlisted Australian projects:

    Completed buildings

    Civic and Community

    Marysville Police Station by Kerstin Thompson Architects, Australia

    West Kimberley Regional Prison by TAG Architects and iredale pedersen hook architects, architects in association


    Australian Age of Dinosaurs Visitor Centre by Cox Rayner Architects

    The National Arboretum by Taylor Cullity Lethlean & Tonkin Zulaikha Greer

    The Warratah Studio by studio505 Pty Ltd


    Ballarat Regional Integrated Cancer Centre by Billard Leece Partnership

    The Kinghorn Cancer Centre by BVN Donovan Hill Australia

    Higher Ed/research

    Kangan Institute, Automotive Centre of Excellence, Stage 2 by Gray Puksand

    Knox Innovation, Opportunity and Sustainability Centre (KIOSC) by Woods Bagot

    Sunshine Construction Futures by Cox Architecture

    Swanston Academic Building, RMIT University by Lyons

    The University of Queensland Advanced Engineering Building by Richard Kirk Architect + HASSELL - Architects in association

    Translational Research Institute by Wilson Architects + Donovan Hill Architects in Association


    HOUSE House by Andrew Maynard Architects

    Lavender Bay Boatshed by Stephen Collier Architects

    The Left-Over-Space House by Cox Rayner Architects; Casey and Rebekah Vallance


    Aria by MPRDG Pty Ltd; MPR Design Group

    Oracle by DBI Design

    New and Old

    Benson Radiology by Tridente Architects


    One One One Eagle Street by Cox Rayner Architects


    Adelaide Desalination Plant and Kauwi Interpretive Centre by Woodhead

    Medhurst Winery by Folk Architects


    DACA - Dapto Anglican Church Auditorium by Silvester Fuller

    St Barnabas Church by Francis-Jones Morehen Thorp


    Dallas Brooks Community Primary School by McBride Charles Ryan


    Perth Arena by ARM+CCN

    Prince Alfred Park + Pool Upgrade by City of Sydney c/o Neeson Murcutt Architects Pty Ltd

    Wanangkura Stadium by ARM Architecture


    South Morang Rail Extension by Cox Architecture

    Sydney Cruise Terminal by Johnson Pilton Walker Architects


    Point King Residence by HASSELL


    Landscape Projects


    Prince Alfred Park + Pool Upgrade by City of Sydney c/o Neeson Murcutt Architects Pty Ltd; Neeson Murcutt Architects Pty Ltd

    The Australian Garden by Taylor Cullity Lethlean; Greg Burgess Architects; Kirsten Thompson Architects


    Future Projects


    Melbourne Girls Grammar School by BVN Donovan Hill


    Brisbane Ferry Terminals Post-Flood Recovery by Cox Rayner Architects

    Leisure-led development

    North Byron Beach Resort Stage 1 by Shane Thompson Architects


    Consulting Suites by Shane Thompson Architects


    For the complete shortlist, please visit


    Read Comments
    Back to Top