The entry deadline for the Women in Architecture Awards has been extended to 16 December 2016.

Run jointly by the Architects Journal UK and sister title The Architectural Review, the Women in Architecture Awards inspire change in the architectural profession by celebrating great design by women architects from around the world and promoting role models for young women in practice.

According to Christine Murray, editor-in-chief of the AJ and AR, the Women in Architecture Awards are cherished by the winners (who include Eva Jiřičná and Francine Houben) as well as the judges (such as Norman Foster and Patty Hopkins). During a year in which the profession lost the iconic trailblazer Zaha Hadid, a recipient herself who did so much to support these awards, it seems more important than ever to mark the significant contribution of women.

Murray also named important influencers such as Jane Drew and Ada Huxtable who have helped shape the profession and continue to inspire women today.

The Women in Architecture Awards include Architect of the Year, the Moira Gemmill Prize, the Jane Drew Prize and the Ada Huxtable Prize.

The annual Architect of the Year award recognises excellence in design with an emphasis on a built project completed in 2016.

The Moira Gemmill Prize for emerging architects is given in memory of the late Moira Gemmill, champion of design at the V&A, and a keen judge and supporter of the Women in Architecture Awards from their inception in 2012. The prize offers a £10,000 fund to support the winner’s professional development.

The Jane Drew Prize recognises an architectural designer who has raised the profile of women in architecture through their work and commitment to design excellence. The award is named after the great Jane Drew, who graduated from the Architectural Association in 1929 and started her own practice after the Second World War, with her work playing a substantial role in introducing the Modern Movement into the UK.

Named after architecture critic Ada Louise Huxtable, the Ada Huxtable Prize recognises individuals working in the wider architectural industry who have made a significant contribution to architecture and the built environment. The award is open to critics, politicians, clients and planners, or anyone influencing architectural culture.

The deadline for nominations is 16 December and it’s free to enter. Finalists will be invited to present to the jury in London on Thursday 26 January 2017. Winners will be honoured at a gala luncheon on Friday 3 March 2017 at Claridge’s in London.

Download entry guidelines and instructions for the prizes below: