People, the creative team behind the upcoming Australasian Student Architecture Congress, has announced that Takaharu Tezuka from Japan will be joining the already impressive list of speakers at the event next month.

The Australasian Student Architecture Congress will be held in Melbourne from 2 July to 4 July, 2015.

The director of Tezuka Architects and a tenured professor at Tokyo City University, Takaharu Tezuka worked for Richard Rogers Partnership before returning to Tokyo to establish Tezuka Architects with his wife, Yui Tezuka, in 1994. They have received numerous national and international awards, including the Architectural Institute of Japan Prize for Fuji Kindergarten (2008), and their work has also been showcased at prestigious exhibits including the 2004 Venice Biennale of Architecture and the 2013 Carnegie International.

This year’s Congress breaks away from the traditional format with the 2015 Creative Directors incorporating a series of intimate workshops into the three-day event for delegates to learn from some of Melbourne’s best and brightest including Jeremy McLeod, Clare Cousins, Peter McIntyre and Kerstin Thompson.

Creative Directors Tim Randall, Mercedes Mambort and Darcy Zelenko explained that the workshops will showcase the diversity of architectural practice in Melbourne, and offer delegates the opportunity to understand the method behind the madness that is contemporary practice.

Speakers’ line-up for the 2015 Australasian Student Architecture Congress:

Takaharu Tezuka, Tezuka Architects, Japan; Julie Stout, Mitchell & Stout Architects, New Zealand; Steve Larkin, Steve Larkin Architects, Ireland; Anna Rubbo, Centre for Sustainable Urban Development, Columbia University, USA; Laurent Gutierrez, Map Office, Hong Kong; Sandra Manninger, SPAN del Campo Manninger Architects, USA; Veronika Valk, ZiZi & YoYo, Estonia; Sean Godsell, Sean Godsell Architects, Melbourne; Phil Harris, Troppo, Adelaide; Adrian Welke, Troppo, Perth; Jeremy McLeod, Breathe Architecture, Melbourne; Lucy Humphrey, Lucy Humphrey Studio and Archrival, Sydney; Tone Wheeler, Environa Studio, Sydney; Paul Pholeros, Healthabitat, Sydney; John Gollings, Gollings Photography, Melbourne; Paul Memmott, Aboriginal Environments Research Centre, Brisbane; Lucinda Hartley, CoDesign Studio, Victoria