The Australian Institute of Architects’ 2012 National Architecture Awards has unveiled the shortlisted projects in the lead up to the November 1 presentation ceremony in Perth.

The jury shortlisted 59 projects - a new record - from a total of 140 award winning projects from all states and territories in Australia.

It is the first time in the Awards’ history the Institute has released the names of projects shortlisted by the jury in advance.

Brian Zulaikha, 2012 Jury Chair and immediate past president said the number of shortlisted projects is indicative of the high standard of architecture in this country.

“The jury were incredibly impressed by the calibre of projects viewed, making the final decision a very difficult one and we would like to express our sincere congratulations to all architects awarded or shortlisted.

Zulaikha was joined on the jury by Kerry Hill, Richard Johnson, Amy Muir and Juliana Engberg.

The Awards categories include: commercial, enduring, heritage, interior, international, public, residential – houses, residential – multiple housing, small project, sustainable and urban design categories and the Colorbond Award for Steel Architecture.

Among the shortlisted projects are:

Commercial Architecture

1 Bligh Street, Sydney

architectus + ingenhoven architects


Image by H.G. Esch



International Architecture

University of Indonesia Central Library

Denton Corker Marshall

(Image below) by Denton Corker Marshall



Heritage 42 Goulburn St, Hobart by Circa Morris-Nunn. Image by Johnathon Wherret.


Interior Architecture

Cultural Centre Amenities (WA) designed by Coniglio Ainsworth Architects. Image by Robert Johnson Photography.


Public Architecture

MONA – Museum of Old & New Art

Designed by Fender Katsalidis


Image by Leigh Carmichael.





Residential Architecture - Houses

Flinders House (VIC) designed by Wood/Marsh Architecture. Image by Jean-Luc Laloux.


Residential Architecture - Multiple Housing

Monash University Student Housing, Clayton (VIC) designed by BVN Architecture. Image by John Gollings.


Small Project Architecture



Designed by BKK Architects and Peter Elliott Architects


Image by Peter Bennetts.







Sustainable Architecture

58 Stevens Street (WA) designed by Officer Woods. Image by Robert Frith.


Urban Design

Hilton Community Centre (WA)

Designed by Bernard Seeber

Image by Angus Martin





Colorbond Award for Steel Architecture

Milson Island Sports Stadium (NSW) designed by Allen Jack + Cottier Architects. Image by Nic Bailey.


View the full shortlist here.

The 2012 National Awards ceremony will be held at Midland Railway Workshops, a colourful collection of early 20th century industrial buildings in Perth’s north-east. This will be the first time the National Awards have been held in Perth in its 31 year history.

In addition to the National Awards ceremony, the Institute will be showcasing shortlisted projects at a special exhibition at the Gallery of Australian Design in Canberra in November which will include a Short Film competition, Archiflick.

Members of the Institute are also invited to design and construct the bar for the 2012 Awards ceremony.

In conjunction with Award sponsor, Ketel One, the Institute welcomes submissions to design and build a modular bar to be installed at the Midland Railway Workshops for the presentation evening.

Tickets for the awards night are now on sale and available to purchase online.

For more information on the ticket sales, competitions, prizes and exhibition visit