The National Gallery of Victoria (NGV) has named five architectural practices in its shortlist of firms selected to proceed to the next stage of the 2016 Architecture Commission design competition.

NGV chose the top five practices from 93 entries in the second edition of the Australia-wide competition. They include [email protected], March Studio, Nervegna Reed Architecture, and Thomas Winwood Architecture from Melbourne, and Other Architects/Otherothers from Sydney.

Four practices also received commendations from the jury. They include Johan Hermijanto (Melbourne); Kevin O’Brien Architects (Brisbane); Studio Roland Snooks (Melbourne); and Zilka Studio (Melbourne).

According to the jury, all the shortlisted submissions “demonstrated playfulness and invention, generously inviting public interaction”. The jury added that all the shortlisted designs combined the use of recycled or repurposed standard materials with innovative construction techniques, which could lead to potential collaborations with designers from fashion, landscape architecture, product design and construction engineering among many other disciplines.

Judging for Stage two of the competition will commence in April 2016 when a winner will be announced. The winning design will be constructed in October 2016.

The annual competition, which began in 2015, invites Australian architects and designers to develop a temporary architectural work for the Grollo Equiset Garden at NGV International. The inaugural 2015 Architecture Commission was awarded to John Wardle Architects.

The jury for the 2016 Architecture Commission is comprised of Corbett Lyon (Lyons Architects and NGV Trustee, chair), Rachel Neeson (Neeson Murcutt Architects), Emma Williamson (CODA) and Fleur Watson (RMIT Design Hub).

Image: The inaugural 2015 Architecture Commission by John Wardle Architects features a temporary arching steel grid shell lined with recycled plastic petals (Photo: John Gollings)